The Girl is back in Town!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
January 8th 2006
Published: January 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have finally arrived back in Nottingham and have been attempting to study for finals, hating every minute of it. I usually don't mind studying for finals but that could be because they generally take place BEFORE vacation--not so in England.

It took me awhile to make my way back from the States into Nottingham and my home away from home. Actually, it took a 10 hour plane ride from LAX to Heathrow, about 20 minutes to get through customs and grab my luggage, and then a looong walk to the tube from Heathrow. The tube took a couple hours (maybe less but I didn't time it well) from Heathrow to St Pancras/King's Cross, where I proceeded to the train station. I waited around the train station for about an hour before my train left for Nottingham. The train usually takes about 2 hours but it took me about 3 because they were doing engineering works on the tracks all over England. However, I finally made it back and after catching the bus I trekked up the 2 flights of stairs to my flat and walked into a very neat, but blank landscape which is my room. At this point my next mission was to unpack and then scavenge for some food since I was starving.

I succeeded in unpacking all of my things and putting them away, which I usually put off but I wasn't really up to studying so unpacking took precedence. And my food mission would be solved soon...pizza. Talking to Taylor online, and Leslie just recently arrived in town, the three of us decided that pizza was a good answer to our food cravings. So we walked into Beeston to Poppa Pizza and talked to some really nice guys while they made our pizza. It was really good, a bit on the greasy side but that's alright.

We then hung out for a bit...the end. The trek back to England from California is complete.

Oh! I forgot to mention that I already miss the California sunshine....simply because when I left LAX it was 75 degress Fahrenheit and when I arrived in London it was 4 degrees Celcius. Now if you convert that, I went from nice, sunny and warm, to cold, 3 layers and an umbrella. Lovely.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb