A storm's a brewin'!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
October 28th 2005
Published: October 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

It's finally Friday!!! Yippeee. I'd probably be much more excited if I wasn't still trying to get rid of my cold. Although if it goes away by Monday (aka Halloween) then I'll be a very happy camper. 😊 On the off chance that it decides to stick around, I'll not be a very happy person to be around...maybe that could be my costume, a grouch. Grouches: Oscar or the Grinch?? or Scrooge?? Hmmm...I'll have to think about all those and decide later.

Seminar this morning was educational. It was kinda weird. I'm not used to going to section and discussing a topic that has not been covered in lecture yet. It was kinda strange but I did a little bit of reading for it. However, today was basically a whole other lecture. My coughing got the best of me towards the end and I had to go out of the room for a bit. So annoying! Oh well at least I wasn't disturbing everyone else, I hope. I also talked to the teacher after class to explain what I had missed while out of the room, which wasn't much, and to get an idea about whether I should write another paper for my final exam or to just sit the 3 hour exam. I am used to sitting for exams, although most of them don't use the entire 3 hours they are allotted. I probably wouldn't have too much trouble with the exam but I'm wondering if it would be much more fun and interesting to write a paper instead. Understand that our final exams are in January, AFTER Christmas break which means that I get to study a bit while I'm on break...welcome back to high school. I most definitely prefer the quarter system. The other thing is that this class is very similar to our lower division survey courses and is quite similar to the one that I sat in on winter quarter with Rachel, with some major differences. I'm really not used to the way they teach things over here. I much rather prefer being given a set list of books that must be read and a separate suggested reading list. Here everything is suggested and you have to simply try and locate whatever books are available in the library at any one time. Thus they have the busiest library I have ever been in!!! It's absolutely ridiculous how many people are in there at any given time. Goodness!

In other random news. I've noticed that the Brits are incredibly into listening to theme songs. What's with that?? Anyone know?? A prime example is that no matter what club you go to you are pretty much guaranteed to hear the Baywatch theme song once. It's really weird, this obsession. Strangeness!

There's nothing like getting woken up at 5am because you can't stop coughing and then hearing one of your flatmates get up at 5:30am in order to catch the train to London. So random!

OI! The weather here is so crazy. It looks like it's going to downpour any second when it was sunny not 10 minutes ago. Interesting and kinda fun to try and predict, albeit fairly impossible. Not to mention that next week's going to be utterly crazy!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb