A Northerner’s Guide to Tripping in Northumberland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Northumberland » Farne Islands
August 6th 2015
Published: August 6th 2015
Edit Blog Post

A Northerner’s Guide to Tripping in Northumberland



After another exhilarating adventure in Northumberland, possibly my favourite British county (although I am biased), I decided I’d like to share some of my favourite things about this beautiful rural region with my fellow travellers!

These recommendations are the product of many, many journeys through the region, in the hope that you can pack all of these Northern delights into an adventure of your own.



Food: Craster
I couldn’t recommend a trip to Northumberland without mentioning the Jolly Fisherman by name. This Craster pub is an absolute treat for ale enthusiasts (I’d go for the Timothy Taylor Landlord - delicious pale ale) and has an evening menu packed with scrumptious fresh seafood.

Add to that the panoramic sea views and warm local atmosphere and you’ve got yourself an unmissable rest stop in your trip to coastal Northumberland. Of course, Craster has many jewels in its crown - and there are tons of ways to find more info about this beautiful fishing village.



Wildlife: The Farne Islands
Between Bamburgh and Seahouses, you’ll find the enigmatic Farne Islands - and as a wildlife lover myself, I can’t praise this area of Northumberland highly enough. I’ve tried several of the boat trips myself and encountered everything from puffins to white-beaked dolphins for a nominal cost.

My personal favourite has to be the Grey Seal Cruise, which takes just an hour and a half and gives you a closer look at Northumberland’s massive grey seal colony - many of which spend their days basking on the rocks during low tide.



History: Bamburgh Castle
With over 2000 years of history, Bamburgh Castle is the closest history buffs like me will get to heaven on earth. Sitting 40m above sea level, you can’t help but marvel at the sheer size of the castle perched atop Northumberland’s gorgeous coastline.

Once the site of bloody battles and regal rebellions, the castle is one of my favourite things about this picturesque county - a seemingly impenetrable fortress of awesome archaeology and spectacular sights I’d recommend to couples, families and, without doubt, short stay tourists of all ages.



Atmosphere: Holy Island
I can’t count the number of times I’ve taken spiritual refuge at Holy Island, one of Northumberland’s most serene and enigmatic spots. Literally disconnected from the rest of the world twice each day, this island village is my ultimate recommendation for any visitors to Northumberland.

I wouldn’t recommend attempting a trip to Holy Island without taking a careful look at the causeway crossing times first, as you’re completely at the mercy of the tides. Time it right, though, and you’ll have a chance to explore the mysterious Lindisfarne Priory and get a first-hand glimpse of its world-renowned rainbow arch!



Sights: Dark Sky Park
Last but by no means least is Northumberland’s International Dark Sky Park. I suppose I’d describe myself as an amateur stargazer - and in my opinion, this park is one of the greatest gifts the rural British landscape has to offer. Again, timing is everything - so keep an eye on the calendar when planning your trip. From my experience, winter is the most rewarding season of all, with thousands of glittering stars and vibrant nebula visible from the park.

If the aurora borealis is out of your reach, I’d say the Dark Sky Park is just about the next best thing - and an ideal way to soak up the stunning natural beauty of Northumberland.



The best piece of advice I can give you is that no two experiences of this region are the same. With so many rural spots ruled by the elements, your best bet is to get exploring and take advantage of any seasonal highlights on offer.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0791s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb