Vikings!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » North Yorkshire » York
February 20th 2017
Published: February 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

This week, York is celebrating it's viking heritage with the largest Viking Festival in Europe. The original Viking festival celebrated the coming of spring. Tolkein-Dwarvian men will compete for best beard, learn how to fire arrows, fight with long swords and conserve archaeological finds.

To celebrate my viking heritage, I learnt to wield a long sword (youtube + wooden spoon = close enough) and knit weave metal, all whilst drinking ale (much like cognac in January, this ale is not my cup of tea).

Please enjoy the picture of the bus.

Coming up this week - Mother Langugae Day, St Lucian Independence, Mash, Mahashivaratri, N'cwala and Wear Red Day.



Any festivals coming up that I should be celebrating? Message me here, or tweet me @fighiggins.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.339s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb