Lakes and Dales 2021. Day 2 Monday


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » North Yorkshire » Hawes
June 28th 2021
Published: June 28th 2021
Edit Blog Post

47 miles. 10.,6 mph 1250m. Ascent.
Good meal in the Hostel last night until I suffered cramp at the table and nearly cleared the table of occupants in my reaction. Ten minutes standing on one leg and a bit of violent massage did the trick, although I had minor recurrences all evening. A walk around Hawes was pleasant before an early bed at 9,30pm. Cramp appeared briefly at mid afternoon at Tan Hill after a half of Guinness when I had to hop on one leg to my bike to the consternation of the gathered throng of drinkers in the outside garden.
The ride along the valley through Askrig was very pleasant with the sun breaking through. The climb out of Askrig was not quite as nice giving a shock to my legs.
Castle Bolton was a nice place to stop for a brew in the cafe situated in the part of the castle which is still intact and used for special events such as weddings. Another shock was received shortly after as we climbed Redmire over to Reeth and trundled up Swaledale to a lunch at Muker. We just made it to the cafe in time before some walkers turned up. The ham sandwiches were a treat with fresh granary bread and hand cut ham, just hitting the right spot.
Two miles to Thwaite and guess what the terrain was like after that? Yes, hills and more hills and a true leg breaker challenge up to Tan Hill with several riders dismounting up by the sheep pens. The ride across the moor was undulating until a magnificent decent to Kirkby Stephen and tea and cream scones awaiting us. Our host Carol is very professional and is treating us like Meghan Markle, no sorry I mean Royalty?
6.30 saw us ravenous and seated in the Mango Tree Indian Restaurant where I chose a deliciousl Lamb Buryani. I am now writing this rubbing my arms having been bitten to death outside by midges. Am I in Scotland? Kendal awaits tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb