Flight Day


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Norwich
January 15th 2009
Published: January 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Final Packing AlterationsFinal Packing AlterationsFinal Packing Alterations

Emily and I take one final look at our bags and I wonder what might have been with the boater hat.
It was just a few hours until Emily and I set off on our four month escapade around a couple of continents and all I was worried about was whether I had packed enough formal shirts for the trip and also how I was going to get my boater hat out to Vietnam without A) looking like an idiot, and, B) it getting destroyed.

Crunch time for the packing probably came when David (friend from Exeter) started wading through my neatly organised packing (in colour coordinated plastic bags) and started coming up with helpful comments like, "My God chap, you don't need all those boxers! When I was cycling to Iran I didn't wash for at least 2 weeks." As a result, I promptly unpacked everything, removed 3 formal shirts, the boater, a pair of smart shorts and my deck shoes and decided that traveling light was probably better than having clothes for every occasion.

Emily, sensing I was a lost cause, added to my misery by pointing out that not only was she taking less with her, but that her bag was already packed and that she was currently using her final hours in the UK profitably by
DinnerDinnerDinner

Someone once said a full person is a happy person - with a 16 hour flight ahead of us I thought it prudent that I eat as much as possible!
applying for a job!

However, all came right in the end and by 4pm my bags were packed (with bungees wrapped around as a make shift anti theft device) and we, i.e. I, transfered the bags to my father's car so that he could drive us to Heathrow.

Once there, (David having played a game of car tag with us for most of the way there), we were given a quick send off by my farther who watched us go through security and then left us with the tricky decision of what we were going to have for dinner. We decided on sushi in the end (it seemed vaguely appropriate for a gap year that would involve 2 months travel in Asia) and promptly stuffed ourselves with food, only to find that the delightful people on Qatar airways had another meal waiting for us. I decided there could be worse things in the world!

Alec

Right, well my story begins slightly before Alec’s. Having decided that it would be easier to stay at his house the night before we traveled, I had to have everything packed the day before and was then to be transferred to Diss in order to be exchanged into the hands of the Whiter family by way of a meal. Unusually, when it came to leaving I was fully prepared, everything that I wanted to take was packed: the HUGE medical kit (supplied by Mum), sleeping bag/sleeping bag liner (thanks Libs), camera, books, iPod, CLOTHES, washkit, towels, I could go on… And yet, I had plenty of room to spare. However, when it came to leaving Mum had a last minute flit about me not having my mobile phone, “what if you get separated?”, “how are you going to contact us?” etcetera, etcetera. So, being the obliging daughter that I am, I had to dash inside to retrieve my phone only to come out to the car again to realize that my phone was useless without its charger (sorry this story is probably getting rather boring). Anyhow, we arrive at the restaurant in typical Chalmers style (i.e. late) and sit down for a delectable meal at Weavers to celebrate our traveling excursion. Chalmers family meets Whiter…plus David.



Morning of our flight: Alec is frantically pacing around trying to rearrange his bag. He is now worried about his packing having discovered last night that my bag was significantly lighter than his. I, however, sit down for a leisurely breakfast and decide that this might be a good opportunity to write those law applications I have been meaning to do for months.



Morning passes, Alec is now happy with his packing so we decide to set out for a last minute shop (and my last minute admin: money exchanging, letter send off, etc). We return to find Alec’s Father home ready and waiting to take us to the airport, and within an hour we’re off. Bye, bye Norfolk (oh cruel, cruel world)!



Heathrow Airport: Upon arriving at the airport we had a relatively quick send off (bar the faff with the rucksack chain thing Mum wanted me to buy) and a breezy security check through, we thus spend a few leisurely hours roaming Heathrow terminal. We fill our time by treating ourselves to a sushi bar with wine and beer (start as you mean to go on, right?). Not long after we finish we’re called to boarding and so the journey begins!



The Flight (6 hours London - Dohar + 6 hours Dohar - Saigon):



3 hours past - Alec and I have just discovered the pleasures of traveling with a business airline: lots of alcohol at our disposal, newly released films, decent meal (for an airline) and excellent customer service.



6 hours past - have just arrived in Dohar, body is a little confused, thinks it’s the middle of the night and should be sleeping, when in fact it’s now 6 am and we are faced with the glaring light of the United Emirates sun. However, my last few hours, although sleepless, have been enjoyed with ‘Singin’ in the Rain’ and we are now experiencing the incredible sites that surround Dohar airport.



9 hours past - am now feeling a little worse for ware. Having not managed to sleep at all on the last flight I am currently facing a bright and ‘rubbing it in Alec’ (who slept well because he nicked my eye shield) as I try rest a very drowsy head against the airplane window.



12 hours - bloody glad we’ve finally arrived! Can’t believe I’ll have to do that again.

Emily

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 4; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1003.3kb