My Time In Norwich


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Norwich
June 24th 2008
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After we woke up on our first day in Norwich, we went into the city. Before we went into town I had bacon and eggs for breakfast at my Dad's Mum's house. When we got into Norwich we had morning tea and it was hot chocolate and scones for me. There was a secret garden out the back of the old building and my Dad ate my scone when I wasn't looking! It was a rainy day and we decided to go to Norwich Castle.

Norwich Castle was not just a medieval castle. It is also a museum today with Egyptian, Viking and Roman displays. The keep of the castle is the only part of the original castle remaining. It has got a well in it that you can throw coins down and it must be at least 20 metres deep. Then we went on a tour of the dungeons. It was cold and creepy and there was a display of medieval torture instruments and they put me in the ducking stool. The guide said that a famous person who visited the dungeons and wrote about how bad it was, was called John Howard. I asked if he was the
Inside The Secret GardenInside The Secret GardenInside The Secret Garden

I am standing in the secret garden with a church behind me
Australian Prime Minister but he wasn't!

The next day, we went to visit my Uncle Bruce and Auntie Vivienne. They live in the countryside and they have chickens and dogs. I went to play with the chickens but they didn't like me. The dog didn't like me at first because it kept barking but it turned out that it was my Dad that was annoying it.

We then went to the coast. It was a place called Overstrand. We had lunch there and I walked on the beach. The sea was cold and there were wooden things called groynes going out to sea to stop the sea washing the land away.

Then we drove the long drive back to London.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

A female Egyptian mummyA female Egyptian mummy
A female Egyptian mummy

Inside Norwich Castle
Sir LiamSir Liam
Sir Liam

I am in chain mail with a longbow in my hand.
Me in the Ducking ChairMe in the Ducking Chair
Me in the Ducking Chair

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!
Auntie Vivienne, Thompson and MeAuntie Vivienne, Thompson and Me
Auntie Vivienne, Thompson and Me

I am next to Thompson (The Dog) and in front of Auntie Vivienne


24th June 2008

Groynes
I am very relieved you explained what groynes are! I'd never heard of them before. Your descriptions and explanations are very informative and amusing. Phoebe
25th June 2008

Your time in Norwich
Wow Liam. You are certainly getting some first hand experience over there. Aren't you lucky that they didn't dunk you in the water? You certainly looked a little tied up. You looked great in the chain mail. Was it as heavy as the one we have at school? Did you enjoy looking at the armour? Looking forward to your next edition. You are writing really well. Very enjoyable reading. Catch up with you later. Mr Brown
25th June 2008

Wiki-liam-edia
Wikipedia's got nothing on you mate! Sir Liam indeed. What happens in a ducking chair? Anything with ducks? Would the ducking chair be better with or without a waterproof glow in the dark jacket? Love Mum

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb