Touching Daydreams...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Norwich
January 16th 2008
Published: March 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

For years I've listened enthralled, amazed, surprised, amused, enraputred, intrigued but with resigned envy to travellers tales from friends, family, work colleagues, aquaintances, random strangers! I've gazed longingly over photos of far flung places, peoples, landscapes, wildlife, horizons beyond my narrow little world and wished I could be there too, experiencing it for myself.

But I've been a mum forever and never had the chance to spread my wings. With a daughter at university (where does the time go?) and two under 10s my chances of even a slight ruffling of feathers seemed far, far away in the dim and distant future. So I'd sigh as the last photo was put away and mentally plonk myself back into my world, leaving ideas of travelling on a dusty, high shelf labelled 'things to do in my fifties'!

Suddenly having a grown up daughter presented possibilities, a window of opportunity, exams would be over, a huge Easter holiday loomed. Offers were made, 'I can look after my sisters when they're not at their dads' and despite not quite believing what I'd heard I started tentative forays into possibilities for my fledling flight.

Touching daydreams was becoming tangible reality and I therefore needed a plan. The questions were endless; where would I go? who with? what did I want to see? what did I want to do? would I cope if I went on my own? Eventually, from the whirr of information flying around my head, I clutched at strands, knitted pieces together and gradually the confusion began to clear - I wanted to experience wow-factor landscapes and where better to do this than home of the world's biggest mountains, Nepal?

Now began the real planning and my aged computer could hardly cope with the demands for information I was impatiently clicking it for. So many travel companies, so many tours. But my impatient clicking began to lead me towards streets of colour, bustle, people, heat, taste, spices, spritually and I was seduced by the pull of India too. A plan was beginning to emerge and it was my plan, right for me - I was going to India and Nepal.

So here I sit - tours booked, flights booked, slightly bemused and not quite believing that in 2 months time it's actually ME jetting off to far flung lands to return with travellers tales and photos aplenty.

And now I am literally counting the days until I can spread my wings and finally touch my daydreams...

00
DAYS 
00
HOURS 
00
MINS 
00
SECS









Advertisement



Tot: 0.298s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1905s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb