My First Anglican Cathedral


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Norwich
October 18th 2007
Published: October 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was a pretty nice day so I decided to do a little exploring. I rode my bike to the city center (and I didn't even get lost!) and stopped first at the Forum. The Forum is Norwich's library- it is a pretty sweet building. They have several restaurants and tourist information inside. Then I continued on to the The Cathedral of the Holy and Undivided Trinity Norwich. Quite a name. I wandered around, it was nice- a lot like all of the other Cathedrals I have seen, except this one is headed by the Queen, not the Pope.

One of the coolest features was the Baptismal Font. It was made of copper and was originally used in a chocolate factory. When the factory shut down it was given to the church and I guess it suddenly became holy enough to be used for baptisms.

Another neat thing was the labyrinth on the cloister lawn. It was put in place for the Queen's golden jubilee in 2002. I always thought labyrinths were a pagan tradition, but I guess I was wrong!

Afterwards, I got my hair cut- Mom, you should be happy.

Today I have a seminar presentation. I am presenting on the question "Should English be the Common European Language?" Wish me luck!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0992s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb