Village Life


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Norwich
September 12th 2018
Published: September 13th 2018
Edit Blog Post

The Swann InnThe Swann InnThe Swann Inn

Horning
A couple of cool, drizzly days have encouraged me to focus on the smaller, local scenes - although Wednesday I started out with modest intentions and ended up rambling all over Norfolk‘s famous ”Broads,” a flat, marshy region threaded with streams and small rivers. (Think tidewater Virginia or the Caolinas’ low country, both of which lie within the menacing reach of Florence, we fear).

My target was tiny Horning in the Bure Marshes National Reserve, purportedly a half-hour drive; I left at 10 a.m., returned at 4 p.m...! It was simply a case of “Hmmm, since I’m already here, I might as well...” that led me over to Horsey‘s wind mill and then up to the coast of the North Sea for more of that tasty Cromer crab (even though it was raining).



A word here about “A” roads (I’ve posted videos of some “B” roads on FB). These look and feel like highways (two or more lanes going in each direction, separaged by a median, limited access, etc.) The speed limit is typically 75 mph (not kilometers), but don’t get too comfortable.... That’s because every 10 miles, or less, there’s a huge roundabout: Britain’s solution to the interchange. Granted, they’re cheaper and easier to construct (no overpasses to build, no ramps for which to buy up land), but GEEZ Louise! You’re rolling along at a clip, then have to slow to a crawl, or stop, every 10 miles. No wonder it takes so long to traverse this country!

My motoring done “for the nonce,” Thursday I joined the local pensioners for their monthly lunch at the Bawburgh Primary School. Barring the British accents, it was EXACTLY like the lunch I help serve at Wilsonville’s community center! Today’s menu was roasted, hand-carved turkey and six(!) vegetables, finished with lemon meringue pie. The children were served (and ate heartily) the same food, except they prefer cake.

“Well,“ muttered the pensioners, ”Let them eat cake!”


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Looking eastLooking east
Looking east

Horning
Every home has oneEvery home has one
Every home has one

The Swann Inn
Point madePoint made
Point made

Horning
Sophisticated shopsSophisticated shops
Sophisticated shops

The Swann Inn
The Horsey windmillThe Horsey windmill
The Horsey windmill

Called a wind pump here.
Pensioners at lunchPensioners at lunch
Pensioners at lunch

Bawburgh primary school


13th September 2018
Chef Clive serves dessert table side

Lovely pix! You ate one meal on my pink transferware dishes! I wonder if they still make it or if you were eating on an antique plate like mine? Don't feel too badly about your rain, you'd be getting the same thing here... for the past 3 days and three more to come it looks like. So love reading your blog. More!
13th September 2018
Chef Clive serves dessert table side

Plates
That was the crab wrap I brought “home” to Christina’s cottage. She has bunches of mismatched plates (thus one is Mason’s “Vista England”) It reminds me of the Spode “Camellia” pattern my daughter and mother-in-law chose. ? You’re kind to be so encouraging!!
13th September 2018
Chef Clive serves dessert table side

So your host has these plates! I would be right at home there. (I'm not sure I'm redponding in the right place. This blig structure is very confusing.)
13th September 2018
Chef Clive serves dessert table side

Agreed
I agree, it’s awkward to carry one a conversation on this blog, what with all the review processes, etc. ( best do that via text or email.). But I do love getting a comment or two on each of my posts, so I know SOMEone is reading them... ?
14th September 2018

Fun day trip!
Beautiful coastal (?) town. All so cute and quaint. Love the brick work and all the boats make it so picturesque. Fun to see the Pensioners Lunch too. They must get a thrill being part of your blog reporting. Do they think you are a crazy Yank? HaHa! Love your reporting on the countryside, it is so much fun to share in your adventures in a little way (-; Keep on blogging ... your fans love it.

Tot: 0.278s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb