Adventures with Ann


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Leicestershire » Rothley
September 10th 2013
Published: September 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Cynthia, Ann & MichelleCynthia, Ann & MichelleCynthia, Ann & Michelle

Lunch at "The Moon & Bell", Loughborough
Ann & I lived on opposite sides of the street in the village of Rearsby from around 1946 so we go back a long way. Unfortunately we'll only be having a short time together this visit. But a short time is better than no time at all!

By the time Rachel dropped me off at Ann's place it was close to dinner time and, not only was the dinner Ann cooked delicious, it was washed down by a rather more-ish wine. Ann & I 'chewed the fat' over dinner, reminiscing over old times and past friends. Small pleasures! By the time I turned on my iPad, another Ann rang on Skype from New Zealand and the pair of us were a little tipsy. NZ Ann thought that Ann & I were twins!!

With only one full day together we had a lot to fit in. First stop, off to pick up Ann's sister Sally to dive her to Leicester Bus Depot where she was to catch a bus to Heathrow to visit a son, daughter-in-law and grandchild who live in Washington State, USA. That gave me a little time to catch up with Sally as we sat in the
Karen & MichelleKaren & MichelleKaren & Michelle

One of my darling sisters!
back of the car chatting while Ann negotiated the traffic!

Next came a walk around the village of Rothley to take the dog - Jake - for his morning walk. Then it was off to Loughborough to meet Cynthia, another friend from my long gone childhood and much more chin-wagging over lunch in a local pub.

Back to Rothley to meet my sister Karen for a short while followed by a meeting with my brother Stuart who kept me waiting for an hour! Baby brothers aren't expected to keep their big sisters waiting Stuart - let that be a lesson to you!! Great to see you both. 😊

As I write this, sitting up in bed, I'll shortly be going to Melton Mowbray to catch a train to Durham. Thanks to Ann & Chris for their splendid hospitality; please don't keep me waiting too long before you come back to see us in Australia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Stuart & MichelleStuart & Michelle
Stuart & Michelle

My darling brother at "The Woodman's Stroke", Rothley
Chris, Ann & Michelle Chris, Ann & Michelle
Chris, Ann & Michelle

With Jake under the coffee table


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb