1st week!!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lancashire » Preston
January 9th 2009
Published: January 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey all!!

I got here fine, Dublin was a blast walking around by myself for most of the day. I got to go wherever, whenever I wanted. Add that walking in to lugging my luggage up the 3 flights of stairs before realizing there was a 'lift', I was a tired girl. Got my carry on/personal item figured out thank goodness and went on a plane to Manchester, Eng. I had to pick up my online reserved train ticket and hop on the train directly from the airport.

I got here, and that's when some waterworks wanted to start. Apparently I walked right by the UCLan 'buddy' sent to meet me from the International department. I didn't know if I should take a taxi ($$) or look around somewhere for a buddy, or look for a UCLan bus. The bus wasn't marked with the university, and I asked someone--who laughed at me--about how to use the pay phone. 1 pound later I talked to the International student advisor who called the buddy, Richard, who came to meet me.
We rode to the accomodation office, got my keys and signed the papers, and then they took me to my dorm/flat. Richard (the buddy), a student from China, was waiting for the bus to pick up another student--a girl who lives on my floor from Minnesota. Waterworks hit a bit, but I got over it when I met the other girl, Aubrey, and Richard to take us shopping right by the train station. We got a ride back too, which was nice. 😊

We bonded immediately, we both had frustrating experiences up to that point, so from then on we hung out together. They had a meet and greet with dinner and games for International students where we met some of the other students that had arrived and then we actually all started bonding immediately after that as well. We went out to get PINTS that night, then had an informatoin session the next day, all day. We had to learn about the campus safety (good right Mom and Dad?) and other things we needed to know and that are offered to students here. We had to get our ID cards and register our internet, and we had to register for classes too. This was mostly done for me but I found out I have pick up one more credit hour of classes. Some rules about having 3 credits for immigration purposes, and I only have 2 because my 4 classes are only .5 credit. Haven't exactly figured all that out yet, but will shortly.

We went on a campus tour, and from there went to get dinner with the group. By this point, we are all pretty much friends, us Internationals from America, France, Germany, Mexico, Pakistan, and Jordan. We have a good mix, but most are actually American. At dinner there was probably 20-25 people, we are talking a posse. It's funny to watch us walk down the streets together in our huge groups. We then went out to a pub and hung out some more. Met some Englishmen, other students at UCLan. We will see how things go when the rest of the students come back to school.

This morning I had to take my laptop to the tech guys in the library becuase I was having trouble. It's on now, yay!!! Today we had a group trip to Manchester, we got dropped off at the biggest mall I have ever seen...it was crazy! We hung around mostly together too, though we split up into about 3 smaller groups. We just got back, we were gone from 10 to 6. Long day! I did get a cell phone, but it is expensive to have international calling. Anyways, so tonight, a couple of the American girls are making dinner for a bunch of us, then apparently we are hangin out at someone else's flat and then going to the clubs. Fridays, we are told, is free entrance for students.

I have met 2 of my flatmates, one is a girl from Preston area but has Indian background, and we came across her group of friends last night. They are very nice! Our other flatmate is from India, and seems very nice as well but I haven't talked to her much. They are both exchange students here for a year. We are waiting for the last person to show up..funny, it may be a guy or a girl. They mix it up over here too! (Family--there are good locks on our doors, don't worry!)

We had a cleaning lady--thank goodness!--clean our kitchen, bathroom and our water closet. The bathroom has a tub and shower and a toilet and the other is strictly a toilet. Oh, they don't say restroom or bathroom here...it's literally called the 'toilet'. I've got pictures to prove it! Speaking of pictures, once I get the pictures onto my computer I will post some. I can't wait, but I have to find a minute to breath and to mess with them!!!

Ok, so now I have tried to catch you all up as much as I could in a 30 minute outpour of words and stories, I am sorry if they're unclear, I was typing fast! I will write more later!

Love,
ME!! 😊

Advertisement



10th January 2009

hey cass! im glad you got to the university safely and are figuring things out... miss ya and thinkin about ya here, i know youll have a blast and make tons of new and awesome friends!!! i mean, come on, who couldn't love swimming carrots?! -big t
12th January 2009

YAY!
CASSIE! I am so glad you made it there safely, and the blog is functioning correctly. I am also very happy to hear you are having a good time, exploring new things. I cant wait to see pix. Good luck in classes, keep posting -- we (or at least I) want to hear EVERY DETAIL!!! Miss you! xoxo

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0665s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb