First Step!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lancashire » Preston
January 5th 2009
Published: January 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,
As most of you know I have been planning my study abroad trip for some time, but it is finally happening, tomorrow!!
I leave the Columbus airport in the afternoon, arrive in Chicago O'Hare to wait around a bit, and fly from Chicago at 6:50 pm to Dublin, Ireland!! It's an overnight flight, so I will have keep my days and nights straight by sleeping on the plane...though we will see how much luck I have with that!

I get to Ireland at 7:55 in the morning. I have to grab a bus and head into the city to my hostel where I have one of 11 beds in a female dorm-like room. My hostel is around the corner from Temple Bar, a bit of a touristy place but it has lots of pubs, restaurants, and shops and where lots of Ireland's traditional music can be heard. I can't wait to just sit and watch and listen to the accents!

The next day I fly from Dublin to Manchester, England, hop on a train to get to my school city, Preston, England. Hopefully someone from my school will meet me there, because from that point on I am not sure of what and where I need to go and do.

I will be writing in this somewhat regularly, depending on my schedule and things. Feel free to join and keep reading if you like, I won't be mad if you don't. I know you all have your own lives and don't need to be spending precious time reading about my adventures! Email me though when you grab the time, cjfall2@uky.edu, and I will answer when I can as well.
Happy New Year and good luck in the coming months...I will miss all of you!

Love,
Cassie

Advertisement



5th January 2009

super exciting!!
I'm so glad you are doing a travel blog!! It helps you decipher and remember all the cool things that you get to do!! I'm super excited about reading your blog. Good luck on the flights; give me a call if you need to chat with someone while waiting in airports! MISS YOU!!

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb