Horse Riding & Blackpool


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lancashire » Preston
August 8th 2008
Published: August 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Horse Riding


What a terrifying experience. Fortunately I only went for an hour. I now have massive respect for anyone who rides horses.
I was the tallest person and heaviest person (although that last parts debatable as there was this girl ther who was fucking obese. I felt bad for the horse) so i got the biggest horse.
As I went to climb on to the horse, it tried to fucking bite me.

We then get shown around for about 5 minutes, which really didn't cover anything what so ever.
Then the send you out.

My horse was panting angrily when we started out. There are two people with us, one at the front of the group (group had about 15 people) and one at the back. I'm smack in the middle. Bastards.

The entire time my horse kept trying to eat leaves and kept speeding up and freaking out. The horse in front of me went into a panic run and then my horse started to get spooked.

Just, na. Never again.
I guess teh scariest thing is you're on a creature and you just don't know what to expect. Compeltely unpredictable. An hour was certainly enough for me.

It was cool to do, but yeah, i wouldn't do it again haha.

Blackpool Arrival


I caught the train from Inverness down to blackpool. Raph was with me until Edinborough which was cool. When i got on the train to preston there was nowhere to put my suit case and I basically stood around looking like a dick until i moved this ladies bag at the bag holder. haha, when she got off the train she searched her bag to make sure nothing was stolen.

From Preston to Blackpool I had 10 minutes to find the correct train. I saw a punk looking chick and asked her and her friend. I then got on the train and sat with them.
Jane and Gareth, both for Nairn in Scotland. They're cool. I pretty much stressed out on the train, but
managed to get back to the hotel ok. The people picked me up from the trainstation whcih was mean.

Blackpool isn't as dodgey as everyone makes it out to be, it's just totally run down. It's kind of like a large Grey Lynn (the shops part). There's fuck all places that do vegetarian food. It sucks.

I dropped my things off and went to meet up with Jane and Gareth for some drinks. It rained like a motherfucker, so I went home and got changed. Totally soaked. I then managed to lock myself out of my suitcase, some how. Eventually got it unlocked and went out again and met them at a pub called Scruffy Murphys. haha.
Had some pints and we met two Norweign girls who sat around with us and chatted away.
We then went to some Punk Pub and there was a Ska band playing. They were quiet cool.
Jane and I were sitting at the bar and this glass comes flying past our heads and smashes into the bar. Obviously some punk dudes didn't like the bar tenders haha.

Went back and stayed at Janes B&B coz I was drunk and didn't know where mine was haha.
In the morning I was leaving the owner saw me and started abusing me, asking me why I was tehre etc. I talked my way out of it and left. Later that day Jane text me saying she got kicked out. Man I felt bad haha. She's found a place now but yeah.

Rebellion Fest Thursday


Rocked up by myself as I didn't know anyone. Got there at 11, doors didn't open until 11:45 (when they should've been open 45 minutes earlier).
The festival is held in this large venue kind of like a mall, but with a few stages for gigs. Shit loads of stalls and stuff with people selling T-Shirts, CD's, Vinyls, etc quite a few pub parts that are always compeltely full.
I walked around for a bit, chatted to the guys from the Rabble which was cool to see familiar faces. Met up with Jane and Gareth, went to the pub with them. I owed them a round for getting Jane kicked out haha.
The day was cool, long though. It's really tough when you only know limited people. I feel like an annoying little kiddie constantly texting Jane and Gareth asking where they are.

Met up with Chema from the UK Subs for a bit and said hi. I felt like a bit of a dork though because everyone kept saying hi to him, so i let him have some space.

Randomly, I met up with English Paul. Holy fuck. Apparently he got deported from NZ for fighting 3 cops. He's still the same as always, wasted as fuck, walking around saying OI OI.


Cool bands i saw yesterday:

The Something Somethings (Ska Punk)
Verbal Warning (OI)
The Krikz (Kind of Rise against sounding)
Guns on the Roof (Kind of Dropkick Murphyish)
Short Bus Window Lickers (OI - They're Chema from the UK Subs band).



It's been quite hard here at the moment, by myself. Spending almost a full day walking around a place where every person is friends with everyone else is pretty depressing. Really missing everyone.


That's me for the moment.



Advertisement



2nd September 2008

hey bro!
oi m8 hows going? i was randomly searching and i found this blog! listen we going on european tour with window lickers for about a month but we play 15 of september with a brisbane band anger on motion come along to london!! sweet as bro

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb