Preston


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lancashire » Preston
July 20th 2008
Published: July 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Preston 1Preston 1Preston 1

The city of Preston
After a recent complaint of telling things in real time I'm going to try and keep this one brief.

I came up to Preston from London on the train which was about half an hour late to set off and then had no seat reservations. This was despite having to fork out about £65 for a one-way ticket which was more than my flight to Budapest and another couple of quid to reserve a seat. It then took about 4 and a half hours for the journey, door to door, which was more than leaving my flat and being in the hotel in Barcelona. The distance between London and Barcelona? 707 miles. The distance between London and Preston? 190 miles. I'm hoping the rail system in Eastern Europe runs a bit smoother otherwise I'll end up spending my entire holiday on trains and in train stations.

Anyway, I came up to Preston to visit family before I fly off and get the last few things I needed such as a backpack, clothes and everything else I needed to take. I decided that I should add this stop over as officially it is part of my trip as I'm not
Preston 2Preston 2Preston 2

The town centre...a haven for all those seeking out toot from markets, Greggs and dodgy nightclubs
in London so thanks to Fiona for driving me round to take pictures even if she couldn't quite understand why it was important to take a picture of the bus station.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Preston 3Preston 3
Preston 3

Preston Bus Station the second largest bus station in Europe...now if that isn't a claim to fame then nothing is!
Preston 4Preston 4
Preston 4

A statue to commemorate the mill workers killed by armed troops when demonstrating against poor work conditions in 1842
Preston 5Preston 5
Preston 5

St Walburge's Church with its 94 metre tall steeple. Apparently the tallest spire in England on a church that isn't a steeple.
Preston 6Preston 6
Preston 6

Preston Prison where all the bad people go
Preston 7Preston 7
Preston 7

Deepdale mecca of football and home to the mighty North End
Preston 9Preston 9
Preston 9

A statue of Sir Tom Finney outside the National Football Museum at Deepdale
Preston 10Preston 10
Preston 10

The docks...once the gateway for a nation's bananas now home to Morrissons
Preston 11Preston 11
Preston 11

This is where the banana boats would come from but now its just a marina surrounded by over priced flats


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb