So this is freedom?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent
August 6th 2006
Published: August 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Just thought I'd catch up quickly. We left Kingswood Hall today which was semi-tearful and dramatic, mostly just on my part though. We had a lovely sendoff with lots of folks waving us good-bye as we pulled away in the taxi. It's a bon voyage I'll remember, that's for sure.

A few trains later and we're here in Tunbridge Wells, where we were greeted by the lovely Queen Mum, Mary Forrester (My sister's mother-in-law, for those of you who don't know). We caught our breath and had a nice cup of tea in the garden (we're really adapting to the culture), and were then swooped up by friends of Andrew and Carrie who have luckily become our friends as well.

Lotte and Stu took us to a pub in Mayfield where we had a free bar-b-que, and then we went to another friends farm, where we went off-roading in the English countryside as the sun was setting, complete with icy cold beers and everything! We visited with Phoenix, a real looker of a horse (who got his nose down my shirt just enough times to have me wondering about his true identity...and I got goosebumps from it enough times to wonder about mine as well), and Squirrel, a male cat who wanted sugar so much he had himself wrapped around the neck of anyone who would have him. He and Phoenix touched noses quite a few times and I think they were both beside themselves with the love. The feline/equestrian attention was cathartic, and the off-roading had me wishing I had worn a bra...but, you know, traveling hippies will do what they please.

Tomorrow I guess we'll catch up with some laundry, give Mary a hand in the garden, and have a curry dinner with the same gang we met tonight.

I must say, freedom's not so bad.

Advertisement



7th August 2006

A horse is a horse . . .
...of course, of course. Nuzzling is normal—for people and equines! I'd be quite honored myself. Been quite some time since any creature has had his nose down my shirt.
7th August 2006

cracking me up...
You are cracking me up. Keep the stories coming! I wish I could write only half as well as you do. I see a comedy screenplay in your future.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb