Homeward Bound


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent
April 27th 2010
Published: April 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello,

Yet again I begin with appologising for not updating sooner. I hope you all haven't been sitting on the edge of your seat for this whole time! As you may have already heard, I was diagnosed with typhoid. This was not the news I wanted to hear. The doctor who told me didn't seem to think it was a big deal but that's probably because its so common in Peru. He gave me five more days worth of antibiotics and sent me away.

The problems with typhoid is that it can sometimes lead to intestinal damage and even once the symptoms have disappeared the sufferer can still be a carrier who can pass on the disease to others. I really needed more medication than five days of antibiotics so it was decided, for mysake and the safety of the other researchers at CICRA, that I should return home where I have access to better medical treatment.

Two days later my Mum flew out. We had planned to go back up to CICRA together, she would stay for a week and then go home. This was now not possible so we had to stay in Puerto Maldonado for a few days. It was a real shame that Mum never got to see CICRA, that I didn't get to go back and say goodbye to the place and the people and that I wasn't able to fufil my commitment to the project for the full five months but such is life. We didn't do an awful lot whilst in Puerto as I was too tired and Mum was wiped out by the heat and humidity. We made a rather pathetic pair; both of us crashed out on the beds in the hotel room, sweating like anything! As well as dealing with the heat and me taking antibiotics we also had to worry about the Volcanic ash that was affecting air travel in Europe. Mum's orginal return ticket was for Sunday 25th but we wanted me to fly home as soon as possible so she managed to change her flight to Thursday 22nd, hoping that everything would have cleared up by then. For a few days we waited nervously for news from Roger on the state of play.

On Tuesday 19th Mum and I moved from our hostel in the centre of Puerto to a place called Anaconda Lodge out by the airport. Its a wonderful place with wooden cabins dotted about in secondary forest with "pet" monkeys wandering around. It was so lovely to be there and feel like I was back in the jungle and to spend time with some delightful monkeys. There was one particular juvenile Spider Monkey, called Lochito, who stole my heart. He seemed to be talking to me and asking me to come and play with him in the trees, which I sadly couldn't do! On Wednesday we heard that the UK had opened all its airports so we would be able to get home - that was music to our ears.

The journey home was long. We did the whole trip on one go, spread over two days, so arrived right in time to catch the Friday evening rush hour. Its good to be home(!) Sleeping in my own bed that night was pure heaven. I am currently still waiting to get an appointment at the Hopsital of Tropical Diseases in London. Until I do I can't risk seeing anyone and spreading the disease to them. Its very odd being back in England and not seeing everyone. Oh well, such is life. As soon as I get the appointment and find out if I need anymore treatment I shall let you know.

Take care.

Lots of love
Emma without the monkeys
xxxx



Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb