Teaching


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Cranbrook
July 28th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, here I am, in Kent for my summer job. We have 160 kids, the majority of whom are either Chinese or Taiwanese, and then we also have Spanish (from Barcelona), Italian (from Sardinia) and Portuguese, and we have outings each week (I went to Dover castle on Tuesday). So it's travelling of sorts because I dont know much about this part of the country at all, I've never visited. I'm working at a summer school for foreign kids, teaching English Sunday-Thursday mornings 9-1, and then in the afternoons I'm sometimes on duty - having to supervise the kids at lunchtime, doing afternoon activities, and then evening activities, which so far have been very enjoyable - last night we did a beauty night, which involved me and some other girls beautifying the kids, we had a nail bar, a hair salon with straighteners, lots and lots of makeup, and a chill out area with an interesting gloopy-looking face mask which I think included yoghurt, honey and squashed bananas! The Chinese girls loved the makeup, they looked at us putting it on as if they had never seen it before, and I heard afterwards that often they are not only forbidden to wear it at school, but also in their homes. Other evening activities have included lots of sport, a movie night in the theatre at the school, and our love disco, for which we all got a number and then had to run around the hall writing on paper love hearts on the walls things like "#129 is a really good dancer" and "Marry me #26!!". The kids loved all the Macarena, Saturday Night and 5,6,7,8 dance routines too.

So all in all I'm loving it here, despite the early mornings and the less than enthusiastic kids in my class - theyre the only bad things about working here, everything else is amazing, I cant believe how good I have it, especially compared to last year!

Cath x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0974s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb