November 05 - Preparing to cross The Channel


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Portsmouth
November 5th 2012
Published: November 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

November 05 – Portsmouth – Preparing to cross the Channel – I’m downstairs in the dining area drinking my tea and thinking things over. My bag is packed upstairs in the room and my computer bag is fully packed down here. I have gotten down to one suitcase and one computer case.

I left a bunch of stuff at the hostel in Weymouth with the manager and have sorted through things again here and discarded some more.

The hardest thing for me to leave was a baking potato I had. It was a nice one but I decided that going into France they might ask if I had any vegetables with me and I didn’t want to open my bag to show him “the potato”.

I have called the cab company and ordered a cab for 20:00 to take me to the International Ferry Port.

Today I got all my clothes washed at the laundry up on Clarendon Road. I got some fish and chips as well at the Fish and Chips place next to the laundry and went back to the hostel to eat them and sort out my suitcase and briefcase while my clothes were being washed. It cost me £9 to have my clothes washed and dried.

The Fish and Chips were delicious. I guess they are the last ones I have till next time I get to England.

Advertisement



5th November 2012

moving along
looks like you are moving quickly and the time seems to be going quickly. have a good time and don't get sick. love from home. annette
6th November 2012

france
Sounds like your ready for the trip to France , don"t worry people eat the same you do pretty sure you will find some pototoes there imagine your meeting interesting people along the way , same just like you with accent Take care enjoying your trip
8th November 2012

potato salad
I don't know....I bought a cooked chicken and some potato salad here today and went to my room to eat. The potato salad had some kind of fish in it....I think it was pickeled herring.

Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.2054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb