The planning stage: 4.5 weeks to go!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Eastleigh
July 25th 2011
Published: July 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Thought I would get a planning blog together to document the entire journey, starting in the grey skied oasis that is Eastleigh!

So between working 6 days a week and utilising the other day to attempt to combat the 60+ things on my to do list, I am feeling a little frazzled! Currently doing everything I can to save/make/stretch money, including selling over 50 things on ebay, living off the remnants in my cupboards and freezer, and sadly having a very non extravagant social life!

Costs of things I haven't yet considered keep creeping up, and so far I still need to make a plan to cover travel insurance, a final hair appointment and a netbook. Luckily my injections are free, and will be crossed off the mammoth list tomorrow. (Not sure whether to be relieved or worried!)

I am in the process of booking some post internship travel plans, and can't quite settle on where to stay in Bangkok. Hong Kong was a doddle, but Bangkok just has too much choice. Plus I am doing things backwards, most peoples first visit to the city is with a backpack in tow, and later on they return and stay in a plush 4* hotel. I am about to attempt the reverse which could be interesting!

Three questions on my mind at the moment:
Soft vs hard sleeper from Beijing to Hong Kong?
Splurge on accom and cut back on spends in Bangkok, or do the opposite?
Do I let my roots grow out or attempt to re dye them myself?

Ha. Thats about as far as i've got with things at the moment. Soon to do a test packing list and try and attempt what to fit inside one suitcase for a 2 month internship followed by a 1 month back/flashpacking stint! May need to add 'google shipping options from china to uk' to that to do list!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb