Pre Trip Post


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater Manchester » Manchester
September 7th 2012
Published: September 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Pre-Trip



So, the trip has started. It’s begun with a pre trip visit to England on the way to Heathrow for my initial flight to Hong Kong after saying goodbye to all my family and friends over various dinners and drinking sessions last weekend. I left home on Monday 3rd September on the ferry from Douglas to Heysham, a lovely 3 and a half hour sailing going at speeds the rowers at the Olympics could probably reach. Definitely the slowest route to leave the Isle of Man but ultimately the cheapest J



First stop is Manchester, where I’ve had the chance to catch up with some friends who I don’t see that often so that has been good, and thanks to those who have put me up. I have upgraded my train journey to first class from Piccadilly to London Euston as I think £4 is a bargain and I have the night sleeping on the floor in Heathrow which I know firsthand isn’t the most comfortable so comfort now is of the essence. A 15 hour flight awaits me, with a 2 hour stopover in the morning so first class makes sense.



The night spent at Heathrow was an absolute horror as i thought it would be. Arrived out there at around midnight, so all the seats were full of people sleeping. I would then have to sleep on the floor, which was marble and freezing, This resulted in me waking up every hour shivering, not the start i had in mind. Half 6 in the morning came and i went to check in yawning all the way. Time for the real thing to begin, luckily i was that tired that nerves didn’t really come into it. Let’s go !!!

Advertisement



7th September 2012

Start of your adventure.
Hi Dan, good to read your first blog and look forward to the rest. All our love Julie and Tyler.

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0883s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb