Scattered showers


Advertisement
Published: July 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Friday morning was another early start, even earlier for me as I woke up at 6am, an hour before I needed to. We made it to the university in good time for the first session at 8:30am. Enough time even for me to pick up the book I put on hold on morality of knowledge in conversation. The first session was on lying (and I'd be lying if I said I loved it - there were two good talks at least). After morning tea, I then went to a session on laughter.

I then walked into town for some sightseeing. I started at the Town Hall, which was beautiful inside, though I couldn't see much of it as a lot was closed off from the public. I then wandered around to the John Rylands library. After seeing the magnificent historic reading room, I checked to see if there was an old copy of one of Walter White's books - and there was! An 1898 edition of the Journals of Walter White (which I think might be a first edition actually). The librarians were so kind as to allow me to register as a reader to see the book, even though they were quite busy and usually require 24 hours notice. I took a few photos of the book and reluctantly returned it to the librarians. I was in such a good mood and the library soon became my favourite place in Manchester. I had a lovely lunch in the cafe there and waited for the rain to pass until I set off once again.

I wandered somewhat aimlessly for a time, ducking into shops every now and then. I bought some nice things from Molton Brown and wandered around the main shopping district before I found myself in the Northern Quarter with its trendy boho charm. When there, I sought out the Sweet Tooth Cupcakery that I had read about over lunch. I bought two takeaway cupcakes (vanilla with toffee icing and coffee with chocolate icing, that proved a little too sweet for Maria's taste) and lingered in the cupcakery while drinking a soy vanilla iced tea latte, which was specially invented for me. What a treat!

I found my way back home and had a bit of a rest before heading out to Piccadilly Gardens one more time. I have a drink at Kro while I wrote a few postcards and just took in Manchester, then went to get supplies for dinner before returning home again. The evening was filled with general relaxing, reading, cooking and eating.

I don't feel I really have got to know Manchester. Like many of the buildings here, I feel I've just seen the facade and that there is so much more to Manchester under the surface.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb