Walk like a Mancunian


Advertisement
Published: June 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Note to self: wear-in walking shoes. Only problem is that it’s a bit too late isn’t it? The result is two very unhappy toes that feel as if they’ve had a sledge hammer give them a go. Not happy campers at the moment, my two very dear toes. That been said, their pain is not in vain. I have spent the better part of today walking around this city an am wholly confident that if I do not do any more sightseeing, I will be satisfied.
First – a little about Manchester. Manchester is probably one of the oldest cities in the UK, with the Romans building a castle in the fields (an area now aptly named Castlefied) complete with gardens, fort and city. Manchester has one of the oldest known railway stations in the world, was the hub of industrialisation with both the coal and cotton industries and, today, is a hotpot of cultural activity and big spot for music gigs, both commercial and the not so commercial. It is safe to say that walking through this city, you will see the old right next to the brand spanking new, and are never short of entertainment. Mancunians are warm, friendly, somewhat brash at times, but welcome visitors to their city and are very proud of it. The city itself is very compact and although it is serviced by various companies by bus, tram and train, it really is best to experience it by foot. The walk is pleasant (provided that you have worn in your walking shoes!!!) and if you get lost you will be rewarded with a glimpse into true Manconian lifestyle.
My travels today took me to the Chinese Arts Centre, the beautiful Manchester Cathedral, Chethams School of Music Library, Great Northern, Castlefields and a Deansgate Lochs, St Peters square, the Chinese Arch, the Town Hall and Albert’s square, Central Library, John Rylands Library. Not too bad for 6 hours of walking and gazing. Actually it’s becoming clear just exactly why my feet are killing me. Basically the only escape that you have from the hustle and bustle is the Castlefields area. I managed to find an open bench outside the Town Hall to eat a sandwich and an apple, but it was dead bang in the middle of city life.
Many of the places I saw today added so much to my knowledge. One never realises just
John Ryland's LibraryJohn Ryland's LibraryJohn Ryland's Library

Quircky bookworm dude, made from flowers.
how clueless you are until you start travelling. The Cathedral takes a whopping 2880 pounds a day to run (WOW). Pity I could not figure out why as I happened to get there an hour before a funeral procession and my visit was both dampened by this fact, and rushed. My luck.
John Ryland’s Library was established as a memorial to John Ryland by his wife when he died. In England it is not common to have Memorial Libraries. She received the Freedom of the City of Manchester for her efforts. John Ryland was a very successful businessman who owned coal mines, cotton mills, and retail stores under the business name Ryland and Sons. This Library hosts incredible collections, some of the 2nd Earl of Spencer. Ok, by some I do mean a couple thousand books. It also hosts one of the very few copies of the KJB (Bible) of 1631 where there was a misprint on the 7th commandment by omitting the “not”. The Library is a fantastic Gothic style building complete with dragon’s hanging onto the ceilings on a particular staircase.
The Town Hall is a phenomenal building that really takes your breath away at the sheer size of it. The gold sun on the top gleams in the sunlight and it’s said when it gleams, business smiles upon Manchester.
Walking through this diverse city is real food for my soul and in one little day I got horribly caught in the rain (finally – a chance to use my brollie!!!), windswept, cold, and hot from the sunshine (and I got to use my sunglasses😊 ). I have learnt to pack for all seasons before I leave the hostel. It’s very unwise not to.
Tonight is my last night in Manchester and instead of going out to the pubs, I stayed in. Watching reruns of Only Fools and Horses and having a good ol laugh with my fellow travellers.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb