Greetings from London!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 29th 2006
Published: June 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Heathrow AirportHeathrow AirportHeathrow Airport

snapshot taken within the heathrow airport terminal
Geo: 51.5002, -0.126236

Hey everyone! Well i made it. Fortunatley I actually ended up getting first class all the way from Melbourne to London!! Initially there was like nothing from Hong Kong to London, but somehow i managed to get a seat just before the plane left, and first class!! woo! Plenty of fancy wine for me, and March of the Penguins to make the journey go faster. Its all been a bit of an interesting experience so far..
After almost losing my passport at the baggage claim (yeh yeh shh) I somehow managed to navagate myself by bus and train from Heathrow airport London and then stumble off the train and get to my hostel. My room is at the very top of the hostel, and I staggered up a few million flights of stairs to get to it and find two randoms sleepin there. This is what its like, its a 6 bed dorm, and people are just coming and going all the time, sleeping at random times, talking, drinking, snoring, rolling around. Its almost impossible to have any privacy, or a moments silence. Its now like 9.30AM on tuesday, and ive probably slept 5 or 6 of the last
HostelHostelHostel

Another angle of my hostel room
50+ hours, if that. The actual hostel is kinda dingy, and it just so turns out that my particular room is the only one without a safe of deposit box. how nice eh?
There were two odd, but nice enough girls, Kate and Luce, who were the two sleepers on my arrival which i ended up goin out for drinks with. London is SO damn expensive.. so im really gonna have to try the stingy approach, which wil be a challenge. The bars in London are awesome and i havnt even seen anything yet. Went to some pretty dark skeleton related?? type bar (which i rekon Jason would have loved) which was really cool.
Well ive taken like no photos yet, so im off to journey around and try find some monuments, and explore for myself today, as those two girls just left then. Wish me luck, ill prob need it, and drop me emails, text messages, and messages on this site, so we can keep in touch.
-Kris


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

My HostelMy Hostel
My Hostel

snapshot of my top bunk in the Astor Victoria hostel near pimlico station.
Streets of LondonStreets of London
Streets of London

a random shot of the streets of london
Window viewWindow view
Window view

View from out the window of my Astor Victoria hostel. tragically my room was on the top floor (10sets of stairs up), and the only room without lockers, or security cages.


Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0146s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb