What to pack?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 8th 2012
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 51.5002, -0.126236

It's no warmer in Istanbul than it is here in London - it's colder in Ankara, thunderstorms in Tbilisi, 29 degrees (centigrade) in Kiev! What to pack? An umbrella sounds like a starting point.

I now have a ticket for my train from Ankara to Erzurum in Turkey - I got so excited by them becoming available I forgot to change the destination and booked through to Kars, cancelled that - which cost me 8 Turkish Lira TLK) and re-booked to Erzurum, but the difference in price was less than 8 TL, no matter - the whole 19 hour trip in a First Class Sleeper is only £30.

And I have established that the reason I can't book yet from Rostov-Kiev is that the train starts somewhere else and Rostov is an 'intermediate stop' - as Julia from the Russian Railway customer helpline says: "
On the basis of "Regulations for transportation of passengers, baggage and cargo at the federal railway transport" (hereinafter - the "Rules"😉 the sale of travel documents at the intermediate stations is carried out from 3 days before departure of the train in case of pre-and after disembarking from the train station of departure or the formation of Train traffic. " So I checked the train I need from its starting point and currently there is lots of space!

I've checked in for my BA flight from Terminal 5, and once I'm packed I'm ready to go.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb