A long, long day


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
September 13th 2006
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 51.5002, -0.126236

Once packed, I caught a bus to the bus station and then boarded a bus for Rijeka- where my flight leaves from later tonight. The route that this bus took was not direct at all. It went along the left side of the coast and then across to Rijeka. The ticket was dearer because of this. If I had known I would have caught the next direct bus. Anyway, just under 3 hours later I arrived at Rijeka. Put my bag into luggage storage and went in search of a post office, had a few heavy gifts to mail home. That took about an hour. She was so thorough, paper work and more paper work to fill in, checking her folder to see if my things were allowed to be sent to Australia, etc. Luckily I had plenty of time to spare. After all that went in search of the local bus station to see what time the buses leave for the airport. There are 4 buses a day. Obviously not a busy airport. Had a wander around the pedestrian shopping strip and ate some lunch and then spent some time at a Internet cafe. Walked back to the main bus station to get my bag and then walked to the local bus station and waited for the airport bus. Thirty minutes later I was checking in at the smallest airport that I have been to. Only four flights take off each day- thats why there are only four buses a day from town to the airport. The waiting room was just like a bus stations.
20 minutes before landing in London, the plane was surrounded by lightning. Typical crappy weather. It is very sad that summer is over and its soon going to be very grey and cold.
Being a cheap airline, we didn't have a covered stairway to the terminal building and because it was bucketing rain outside we had to wait 15 minutes in the plane for the rain to ease up!
After getting my luggage I caught the bus to central London and then a night bus to my hostel at Piccadilly Circus. Finally got to bed just after 3am.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.03s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0134s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb