London, baby!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
September 17th 2011
Published: June 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 51.5002, -0.126236

Katherine, Michelle and I took a taxi to the airport (Katherine's treat) at 9:30 this morning. Our cabbie was amusing, talking politics, gay weddings and Catholics. He also – and this made me really, really happy – had “My Lovely Horse” as his cell phone ringtone! I told him why that made me happy and that I couldn't wait to tell John, and he said I should give John a big kiss from him. :-)

A stressful few minutes at the airport when the check-in kiosk wouldn't let Katherine check in, but it was all sorted out at the desk (“Sometimes, the kiosks don't work.”😉 and we did a little last-minute shopping in the duty free. We also sat in the Chocolate Lounge having a scone and tea (Katherine), and drinking Baileys Chocolate Mochas (Michelle and me). In the next lounge over, there was a big rugby match on the TV and every so often a huge cheer would go up. Dublin was playing Australia, and Dublin won.

The flight to London was uneventful. It's been a long time since I sat by a window, and it was fun to see the different blues of the Irish Sea and the patchwork fields of England. We landed on time, collected our bags and were on our way into London on the Heathrow Express, which is even faster than I remembered. Spent a few minutes at Paddington trying to buy Oyster cards, but we weren't in the right spot so we decided to just head for the Darlington Hotel. When I stayed here last year I was upgraded to a double. I figured I probably wouldn't strike lucky twice, and indeed I was given a single room (#101). It's very compact, but probably the best laid out single room I've ever been in. I've even got a fridge (with complimentary bottles of water – sounds like a small thing, but it's sooooo appreciated) and a safe.

We hit the street at 3:15 and went back to get our Oyster cards. There was no queue so it took no time at all. We Tubed to Leicester Square to check out the TKTS booth, but there was nothing that really grabbed us, so we decided just to get some dinner. By this time, it was pouring rain, and I think our spirits were a bit low. But we passed by the Prince of Wales Theatre where “Mamma Mia” is playing, so we stopped at the box office to see about tickets. The only place the guy could get us three seats together was in the 62 pound seats. We were about to leave, when he said if we didn't mind sitting apart, he could get us 20 pound seats. So jumped at that.

Back out into the rain, getting a little bit turned around (Covent Garden/Leicester Square/Soho: confusing!), and found the restaurant we wanted to go to. Cantina Laredo in Upper St. Martin's Lane was very good, and the service was very attentive until we wanted our bill. I had chicken tacos and rice and churros for dessert.

We tried to find a Barclays bank afterward, but either we didn't properly understand the directions that two different people gave us, or they just didn't know what they were talking about. Must find one tomorrow because I'm already down to only 30 pounds!

Our seats for “Mamma Mia” were in what we would call the balcony, though the one I got was more mezzanine. The little girl behind me kept kicking my chair. At least she was mostly still when there was singing. Katherine ended up next to five guys for whom this was their first musical. She said they enjoyed the hell out of it, and even came back from the interval with programs and CDs. The production was fantastic; I don't remember all the hilarious choreography from when it was at the Paramount in 2003 or 2004. Sally Ann Tripplett played Donna, and I think I saw her in “Anything Goes” in 2004. It was great fun, and I even really liked the “Does Your Mother Know?” number, and I don't really care for that song.

It's 11:30 now, and I still don't know if the wi-fi works in this room. Last year I had to sit in the lobby, and there's no way I'm going down there now!

Advertisement



18th September 2011

What a grand time! Probably hard for you to come home, but I hope you have a safe, easy trip. Thanks for letting us live vicariously through you!!!
18th September 2011

Change at ... Piccadilly Circus... for the... Piccadilly line. Mind the gap!Must have that ringtone :)

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb