Aug 14th - Impossible


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 14th 2015
Published: August 14th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Ok I wasn't going to do an entry today but I just had to after seeing "Impossible" tonight. Holy. Fuck. Amazing.

First off - very lazy day today. It was rather rainy still, so it became a last day of puttering around stores and seeing if there's anything else I want before I head home.

Tonight I went to see "Impossible" - originally when I booked these tickets I didn't really know what to expect. I love magic but wondered how much you'd see from theatre seats and such. Turns out you see very well and it's infuriatingly fantastic to be able to "see everything" and yet have no idea how they do a trick.

They did the usual stuff jazzed up (saw in half, box tricks, teleports etc) and they did a very good job of "showing" there were no trap doors/hidden things/wires etc. A lot of people were brought on stage too. Very cool. They had a mentalist who was a total goofball in a good way. They also had a "danger guy" so he did crossbow, escaping fire, etc. Those crossbows though... holy shit even just the sound of the arrow hitting is a little jarring. Loved it. There was also a cool tech trick with a bunch of iPads ... i just really loved it all ok.

During intermission two of the illusionists were standing right beside me just hanging out in the balcony which made me nervous for the second half lol. God, they were a good looking bunch in this show though... very nice.

Anyway!

But the absolute *BEST* part was the card trick the entire audience got to participate in. We all got four cards ("posters" of famous magicians) in an envelope at our seats - we got to check make sure it's four different and the we shuffled them up, turned them over, ripped them in half, shuffled as we pleased.

Now. Piece of our choosing (not looking) put it in our pocket. The rest of the trick was done with our cards down so we couldn't see our choices.

Honestly you almost forget about that piece you put away because you do like twenty different things and the guy was so funny so it's just thoroughly enjoyable. You have to switch a piece with a neighbour, shuffle 3x first card you drop, throw a piece away, etc. We went through a week of staring (don't ask) and order and chaos. Order - card goes underneath your pile. Chaos - you throw it into the crowd/away.

Until you're only left with one piece.
And that one.
Matches the one in your pocket.

Literally EVERYONE in my section got a match. There was the collective "nooooooo!" as everyone realized it was going to be a match. I don't even care about probability or anything it was so freakin' cool ok.

Advertisement



15th August 2015

I'll miss your blog when you return
Hi Julie, I will miss your daily posting once you get back home. Always interesting and funny. I will be using it to do a bit of planning as we are going to Cornwall and London in the spring. Haven't seen your mom in ages so say hi to her for me. Am I given to understand that you will be at Holy trinity this year not NDHS? Joan
15th August 2015

Thanks Joan - will do! Well if you have any questions about London let me know! And yes, I was at Trin last year for a contract and am returning as a permanent hire. Woohoo!
15th August 2015

Thanks Joan - will do! Well if you have any questions about London let me know! And yes, I was at Trin last year for a contract and am returning as a permanent hire. Woohoo!
15th August 2015

How awesome!
Congratulations, Julie. That must feel good to be "secure" after all your hard work. Are you teaching in French? I may well direct some questions your way. I haven't been to London since I was 21 and Dave has never been to Europe at all so will be fun. Joan
17th August 2015

Have a great trip!
Yep, I'll be teaching Gr 9+10 French - I can't wait!

Tot: 0.41s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb