D20: I’m baaaaaaack!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 8th 2014
Published: July 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Back to London today! Feels so great - it’s like going back to my second home - I really have missed it terribly.

I had a two hour wait at the train station, but I took the time to finish my book (“The Yellow Birds” - great read) and to watch some Y&R. Yes, my guilty pleasure lives on while I travel haha. Anyway, train ride itself was uneventful except for the fact it brought me back to my glorious London 😊 I really can’t pinpoint what’s so great about this city, but it is my honorary second home and of all the places I’ve been this is where I most enjoy coming back, so that must say something.

But ugh, London hostels... one of the few things I despise here. I've stayed at some decent ones but none have wowed me, really. This one is over a pub (as many are) and since check-in is at the pub they basically serve everyone before the backpackers. I waited 15-20min. Cool, guess how to ensure I won't stay here again 😊

I've never really explored Canary Wharf area - I've passed thru it often enough but just on the DLR. It's the business district (I think?), so arriving and then trying to depart on the Tube during rush hour is not ideal haha but the buildings are still impressive.

The ability of the Londoner to queue is another impressive feat. At the Tube station there were queues about 10 people deep at each door area... and the impressive feat is people actually stayed in queue when the train would arrive..! Brilliant.

Ok enough about queues.

I headed back to Waterloo to bum around a bit. I went to the Tunnels because I'd never been before - it's a long underground passage where graffiti is permitted so it's one big piece of art. I saw a few people painting while I meandered thru - it's cool to watch.

So, being back in London my greatest joy is that I'm seeing a bunch of plays. I started with a bang tonight - The Crucible. I remember reading it in high school and enjoying it well enough. Soon after I'd booked this play the cast was announced and Richard Armitage was to be John Proctor... and what a Proctor he is. Yes, yes great play and great story but I'd be lying if I didn't pretend like it was amazing to watch Armitage in his element, up close... and didn't hurt that he removed his shirt at one point. Just sayin'.

Ok enough fangirling, it was a really brilliant production. The atmosphere was spot on - before the play even started they had a foggy haze in the theatre and the music was haunting. Doesn't hurt that the Old Vic is a cozy little venue as well. I had an amazing "obstructed view" seat which was a handle in the railing that honest to God ended up perfectly framing the stage for me haha. But hey, want to discount the seat because it's "obstructed" fine by me 😊

The story I won't spoil I suppose, go read the play 😉. I did like how they began with the girl "flying" and the interplay between all the girls as the play went on... quite chilling really. And I loved their transitions between scenes; the music echoed thru the darkness as tables and chairs were moved about. It was just a well crafted piece.

So, yep, I picked a great play to welcome myself back to London. Super long though - it went to 23h05. Well worth it though.

Oh yes, and I can't forget the cute woman in my row - I had an aisle seat so when people wanted to pass I'd just rotate my legs 90 degrees so they were in the stairs. This lady noted: "that's a yoga position, isn't it?" One can only hope. When she came back she quipped: "I half expected a headstand this time 'round". I had no reply that time haha.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb