London's burning - but pleasantly


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 3rd 2006
Published: August 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Compared with Singapore, the heat and humidity in London were more than bearable, though the hotel I'd chosen did its best to contradict that. Arriving at 7AM and being told I couldn't check in until 2PM was par for the course, but that didn't explain why the room was so hot and stuffy that just lying on the bed made me sweat.

I spent a couple of days in London and met up with a few friends (including, unexpectedly, a guy I used to work with 7 years ago who I bumped into while waiting to meet someone else - take a bow, Mr Chris Christodoulou). I then headed up north to the family mansion, where the next 6 weeks were to include celebrating my parents' 40th wedding anniversary and my Dad's 80th birthday, followed by a family holiday to Corsica.

My current thinking is that once the family events are out of the way, I'll spend the rest of the year in Australia then will come home for Christmas. January 2007 should see me start travelling through South-East Asia, though at the moment I have no schedule or end date for that.

Feel free to join me
Trafalgar SquareTrafalgar SquareTrafalgar Square

Nelson's Column
again mid-September.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Trafalgar SquareTrafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square

Nelson's Column
Trafalgar SquareTrafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square

National Gallery
Swiss Re buildingSwiss Re building
Swiss Re building

Aka the Gherkin


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb