Canterbury and London Planning


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 19th 2013
Published: August 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Canterbury CathedralCanterbury CathedralCanterbury Cathedral

This place is the St. Peter's of England, the head of the Anglican Church. The Archbishop of Canterbury is a very important man here.
Today I finally got back a better ability to walk. The limp is barely noticeable, and I can actually roll both of my feet relatively well. These past couple of days, though, have really made me appreciate the simple, but really overlooked ability to just walk right. I've felt so vulnerable since my foot went bad, like I suddenly had this limitation that held me back. A bad feeling, and I'm glad I can get around better now.

With this renewed mobility, I headed Southeast to Canterbury. This was the final pilgrimage site of my trip, this one famous for the great Canterbury Cathedral where Thomas Becket was murdered by henchman of Henry II in the 12th century. Becket later became a saint, and pilgrims have flocked here ever since. I did come for the history, but also for Canterbury literary fame. Chaucer's "Canterbury Tales," a great Middle English poem that describes pilgrims en route to Canterbury, is one of the great books of the world. Canterbury's also a pretty little town, and well worth visiting for a couple of hours.

On the train ride back I started looking over my final plans for these last couple of days
Canterbury NaveCanterbury NaveCanterbury Nave

Did you really think I wouldn't take a nave shot?
and just didn't feel comfortable with the time I had allotted getting to Heathrow from my final night in Wells. So, I made the bold move of staying in London for 2 more nights. This was easy to do. My hotel gladly extended my stay (nicely keeping me at the great price I got), I canceled my last two hotel stays for no charge, and booked a nice little tour that takes me to the sights I was supposed to see. The main one is Stonehenge. Wednesday I head out to see this, along with a few more stops. It's one thing to miss a train, but you just don't mess around with missing a plane. Feel better now, and can kind of sit back and relax these last 2 days.

After my planning, I did drop by the British Library, probably the greatest repository of famous books in the world. The Shakespeare Folio's are here, the Magna Carta, a Gutenberg Bible, you name it. I personally enjoyed the little Beatles display they had - handwritten lyrics scribbled by John Lennon for Ticket to Ride on a scrap of paper. Or Paul McCartney's handwritten lyrics to Yesterday. Cool to
Becket Death Site Becket Death Site Becket Death Site

Becket was the Archbishop, and soldiers literally walked in and butchered him right here. Becket didn't agree with Henry II on many issues.
see.

Tomorrow I really have no plans, but will probably go down the Thames a ways to Greenwich, to see its famous naval sights, and the Greenwich Meridian time marker. Nice not really to have any set plans for once.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Twisting AroundTwisting Around
Twisting Around

Canterbury was built in many different styles over a long period of time. The inside really twists and winds about.
Canterbury ChapelCanterbury Chapel
Canterbury Chapel

Liked this because that ship model, the HMS Canterbury, actually fought against us rebellious colonials in the Revolutionary War. The bell to this ship is in the chapel.
Original Tomb SiteOriginal Tomb Site
Original Tomb Site

Becket was right here until Henry VIII destroyed his tomb - Henry didn't like people who questioned kings. This is where the pilgrims were heading for, this spot. Lots of worn down stones.
Interesting PhotoInteresting Photo
Interesting Photo

Look at all the funny elements: the gate to the cathedral in the distance, a square marker, and... a Starbucks. What a funny world we live in.
Main Street, CanterburyMain Street, Canterbury
Main Street, Canterbury

Lively little place. A great street singer just up ahead.
The British Library The British Library
The British Library

Famous statue of Newton in front.
A Well Deserved DrinkA Well Deserved Drink
A Well Deserved Drink

A pint of hoppy English cask ale always hits the spot.


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb