Intended Route for European Destination and lessons learned


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 2nd 2013
Published: August 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

In this life we are not entirely in control of our intended route of destination. Valuable lessons learned. Let us start from the beginning of my journey to Europe.

United Airlines is definitely not my airline of preference. Flight out of San Antonio delayed into Chicago, reason stated 'due to weather and traffic control'. Arriving at O'Hare just in time to see my connection to London takeoff. Heartbreaking. Contacted customer service via phone.

LESSON LEARNED: Always listen to your glut instinct. My instinct was to not get on the SA flight and to reschedule for the next day.

1st change in destination-Best option quoted was to fly from Chicago to Denver, then into Washington DC and on to London. In my thoughts I am thinking wow I never imagined touring the US in order to get into London. Did I have a choice? After the mind processed all of these changes, then acceptance settled in.

In Chicago I board my connecting flight to Denver, of which, had already encountered a 30 minute delay. At this point in time I will make my connection. Feeling good I settle in. Our Captain announces we have right engine problems which is going to take no less than 40 minutes to investigate. While seated on the plane I once again contact customer service for an alternative, as I will now miss the connection from Denver to Washington.

2nd change in destination-Customer service provided me with a flight out of Chicago to London leaving early evening the next day. The phone the rep assured me I would have hotel accommodations. I deplaned this aircraft with the mechanical problems. Yes, I am the lady that the seated passengers all wildly starred at as I proceeded to exit the aircraft.

LESSONS LEARNED: Always log the name of representative and ask for we mail confirmation of communications. Never fear changing your plans in advance.

Next stop, customer service desk. As a result of many delays, the lines were long and few representatives available. Even with premier status it took 50 minutes to speak with someone. It is funny how things look brighter when it is our turn next at the counter after what seems to be an eternity of waiting. I put on my smiley face as I approach. I obtain my new tickets and am assured they will locate my luggage and it will travel with me the next day. Looking promising so far.

3rd change in destination-I asked for information regarding hotel accommodations in Chicago. The rep states unfortunately there is nothing in the system regarding Hotel accommodations. I shared my previous phone communications with a rep prior to getting off the aircraft. The reps responded, "sorry I have no record of that". I plea my case without getting angry. I am handed a pink ticket with a phone number to call for a discounted room. I think "awesome" I will call as I walk to to the shuttle area located just outside baggage claim. Exiting security on my phone I am finally connected only to discover there are no rooms at the inns provided.

LESSON LEARNED: NEVER leave the security area unless you have confirmed plans.

Now as I attempt to re-enter security on to find it is closed in terminal 2. I asked the guard for another option, he told me if I hurry I may be able to get in security at terminal 3. I caught a train, only to see this entry just closed as well. Okay, now I am stuck outside the secured area until 4 a.m. My phone needs charged, my feet are shrieking 'take a break' , my shoulders are cramping from carrying 25lbs, and my thoughts are saying, 'hold it together'. I find a seat on the concrete floor squeezing in between a Grandmother with 2 Grandkids and young man In order to get a charge on my phone.

I began calling personal resources for options to get a room. I found that the lack of rooms also was due to a huge convention and some type of festival in Chicago. By 1:30 a.m. I am on a shuttle to a 2-3 star hotel. Thankful to rest.

New day begins, checking in seamless. Assured luggage was awaiting to load on my flight from downstairs. All is looking good!

LESSON LEARNED: Always get assurances in writing

Arrival in London was amazing. Low and behold United lost my luggage...go figure. I had no phone to reach Matt and no address known to deliver luggage.

LESSON LEARNED: Have international phone access prior to leaving stateside and know the address where you are staying.

Now leaving my intended destinations behind me together lets begin the adventures as I embrace the European Countries starting with London.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb