Day 4: sitcom filming, career planning, nerdom and wandering extraordinaire


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 4th 2013
Published: July 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hiya.

So, you guessed it, more wandering today!

But first I had to get work stuff in order! Met with the agency today to go over final paperwork and contract stuff - oh this is real, this is exciting!!!

(Sidenote: I will be doing a different blog for my teaching adventures. Details to follow by email once I get organized.)

Since I was around Clampton, I roamed the little shops - found a cute stationary store so scored some goodies for penpal buddies 😊 I can't wait to start writing letters back home - I love me a good letter.

Again, had a picnic for lunch - God I love the green space in this city. I actually went to St. Paul's Cathedral and ate in the garden area. I even managed to beat the lunch hour rush from all the business buildings.

(Sidenote: is there a dress code that men must wear light blue dress shirts with their navy dress pants? No? Well there should be. 90% of men I saw in the area were wearing that and they looked fantastic. Just sayin'.)

Since I was in the area, I popped over to St. Bart's hosptial, where they filmed BBC Sherlock's "death". It's always neat to see the messages people have left on the telephone booth. And by people I mean us nerds. Or as my mom calls us, Shnerds. Ahem. I'm a Shnerd and proud of it ok? Ok.

Late afternoon I headed up to Elstree Studios (big UK film lot) to see the taping of a British sitcom, "Father Figure" - well worth the trip!

First, it's really interesting just to see the process at work. The designs. The lights. Make-up. How the sets are done up. The takes, the pickups, the bloopers - oh god the bloopers haha and all the between scene shenanigans. It was an absolute riot. The best though was the scene with a vacuum... it ate about 3 pairs of gloves (all by accident!! the first time was hilarious - the shock and horror on their faces) and they kept wriggling the nozzle which made everyone die of laughter... that one scene took about 8 takes haha.

Second, the show actually looks pretty good. It's new and I've obv never seen it but the comedian who wrote it is supposed to be funny so I hoped it would deliver. It did. Which is great bc I'm going to see this comedian in August too haha. Something to look forward to!

It was supposed to end by 9:45... we didn't get out until 10:50 - I pretty much ran to the train station to catch a train back to London so I could make the final trip to my hostel. I know... I ran, that's a rarity. Worth it though, and I caught my train. Win-win.

Tomorrow is another full and long day, so may not post until my next stop.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb