The men here are beautiful.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
October 12th 2012
Published: October 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Seriously. Why can't men dress like this in the States? The suit/trenchcoat combo kills me. Just had to start off with that.

Today began on a much better note. I got some good rest, ate my toast and boiled egg, and ventured off- hoping to not get lost so much. I felt so much more confident as I "changed" stations all the way to St. Paul's cathedral. The numerous security guards around the site were a little unsettling, because the website warns that the cathedral is still very much in use for regular services. Turns out some famous London hairdresser passed away and her funeral services were being held. So, no tour for me. I think I got a picture of someone famous? The paparazzi line all started flashing their cameras at some lady wtih a big hat that stepped out a fancy car so, whatever, I got a picture just in case. If anyone can identify her please enlighten me 😊

I then travelled West to Piccadilly Circus. It is definitely the "Times Square" of London. Did I mention that EVERYONE smokes here?? I think I may have caught the Black Lung from all this second hand smoke. Anyways, from there I wandered down to Trafalgar Square and made some old guy take my picture. He was shaking his head and mumbling in French so I gathered he wasn't thrilled to be playing photographer. Whatevs. Went back to Piccadilly and did some shopping. Walked through SoHo to a fish and chips place that I was told was the best in the city. It was pretty darn good. The street that its on is a market street with the entire road full of vendors selling fruits/veggies, desserts, etc. I wanted one of everything! After lunch and a tummy full of fish/grease, I was trying to determine my next plan of attack. They say everything is really close together here but I don't really agree. I finally decided on the Natural History Museum and Kensington Gardens. The Museum was cool, I am a sucker for museums, but as I finished I felt that a couple of my blisters had popped. Wasn't really feeling a nice stroll in the park at that point. Then, a breath of fresh air. I saw an LDS church spire! It was a meeting house/visitors center so I stopped to watch one of their investigator movies and propped my feet up for a while. The missionaries swarmed me as I walked in and I'm sure they were a little disappointed when they learned that I was already a member haha.

Herrods is super close to Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens so, naturally, I had to make a stop at one of the coolest places to shop EVER. A liiiiittle out of my price range but I did get some tasty desserts. If I told you how many times I have gotten lost so far here, you'd be bored out of your mind because I am lost 90% of the time. But I actually got lost lost in Herrods. Embarassing. That's how I found the desserts, I just gave up and followed my nose. I had to ask the nice dessert lady how to get out. Around that area are all of the famous London shopping streets so I wandered down them pretending to be rich enough to fit in. I was carrying a Herrods bag, after all--it just said, "Food Line" after it.

What next. This day is such a blurr. I think I found my way back to the Tower of London (remember Day 1's "Tower" disappointment?). This time it was open so I hurried through. It is huge and there is so much ground to cover, but I walked the tower walls and saw all of the crown jewels. Holy diamonds! A girl can only dream! My tootsies needed a wee break at that point so I sat on a bench and ate one of my desserts, then half walked/half crawled to the underground to make it back for my show. I got there early so I just sat in a pizza shop, people watched, read my London newspaper, and ate the entire pizza.

The moment I had been waiting for all day long was finally here. I was going to see LES MIS! I had the nosebleed seats but I didn't even care! I cried during Eponine's song, "On My Own." And again during about every song after that. It was long and my eyeballs were sleepy, but worth every minute. I wish I could have recorded a snippet to share with everyone. I left the show feeling exhausted and overly confident in my navigation skills because I got lost lost again. At night. Walking down "those" streets that they warn you about. Trying to hide the terror on my face. I finally made it half way and had to change to a bus and could NOT find the freaking bus stop! I stopped in the middle of the sidewalk and summoned the heavens. Then I was high fived by a hot drunk man in a Gucci suit who pointed me in the right direction. Double score.

That has led me to this point- 1am and beyond tired. I'm sure I'm missing a ton but it will have to wait. G'night!

I will add more pics later. Too tired!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



15th October 2012

Totally agree
Girl- I totally agree with your opening statement... LOVE how those guys dress : )

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb