London. Let the Adventures Begin!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
April 13th 2012
Published: April 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I was 7 years old as I watched my big sister heading off to London on her first solo adventure and from that moment I knew that one day I would do the same. Twelve years later, here I am. I followed the path of my sister and many kiwis before me, boarded the plane and took a 27 hour journey to the other side of the world. Despite a few ups and downs, I have now been in the London for a month and a half and already I have had amazing travel experiences and met many inspiring individuals along the way.

Upon arrival in the big city I did not know a soul, yet my only worry was how I was going to get my 2 years worth of luggage to my Central London Hostel (this was the YHA Oxford Street by the way, I definitely recommend it!). I had pre-booked a four night stay, a hop on hop of Big Bus sightseeing pass and I already had a pub job sorted, starting the following week. The next four days were the some of the best of my life. I got over my jetlag quickly, saw the sights of London which I had always dreamed of visiting and partied hard with my fellow backpackers.

On day five it was time to heave my luggage onto a train departing for my new, live-in job in Warwick, located about an hour out of London. Unfortunately, when I arrived in the small country town the best four days of my life soon turned into some of the most challenging. DODGY was the best word that I can think of to describe this new job of mine. I did not know how the other workers could cope with such substandard working conditions or how they could live without heating, hot water and a caved in roof. All I was certain of was that I moved to the other side of the world to have some of the greatest experiences of my life and I would not be finding those experiences here.

With that considered I walked, or should I say sprinted, out of the door of the Warwick pub and caught the train back to London, not sure where I would work or stay. With enough money to last only around two weeks I booked myself into another backpackers. Thankfully, I was able to contact my sister's lovely friend who offered to let me stay in her flat for a few nights so I could find my feet. I cannot thank her enough for her kindness. I quickly began the search for work. I was determined to stay in London, I would not be buying a ticket home so soon!

A few days later the hard hunt for work paid off. I got a phone call from a lovely lady asking me to meet her for an interview for a live in nanny position, looking after her two 10 year old twins, one whom is autistic. It worked out perfectly, she was in desperate need of childcare and I was in desperate need of a job and accommodation.

So this is where I am now, I am an Au Pair in Zone 4 of London with easy access to the central city to explore the great sights. Ok, so it may not be the best job to help me on my career path but for now it’s an income and a warm and friendly place to stay. Most importantly, I am in London, it’s the year of the Olympics and Europe is only a doorstep away! The first adventure is over, so bring it on world, its time let the rest begin.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb