At last.....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
April 27th 2006
Published: April 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I will start with the good news…this will be my last entry from Woking. Another fun filled week has passed here, and we finally have a bit more direction and our final field office locations. After weeks of hoping and making guesses on how things were going to work out, they have turned out to be exactly opposite from what I expected. My new home is going to be in Bangkok. I must admit this was my 4th choice…as I was hoping to be closer to the ‘grass roots’, but at this point I feel like I have to take what I can get. Everything happens for a reason, so we’ll see what will be in store for me there. I was already planning on leaving for Bangkok next week (as I had some training scheduled), but now it is just a one way ticket. Nicole and I will be living in Bangkok, while the other 2 will be in Senegal. I won’t bore you with the work I will be doing, but I am a bit more hopeful on the value we can now provide. I know that I will at least get to go to Senegal once or twice
Hanging at the MetroHanging at the MetroHanging at the Metro

The fun we have in Woking: Enjoying some cheap champagne and subway in the hotel!
for meetings, and perhaps some field trips in the Asia region, I’ll be sure to share stories from them all! Now, I should be settled there in a couple of weeks….so start planning those vacations!

I am also including some pictures that we have taken throughout the past few weeks in London and Woking. Instead of sharing work stories, I will give you the quick update I wrote from last weekend: This past Saturday was a lovely day and although we were not feeling the best due to a late night out at the Chameleon (the club right under our hotel, that we constantly hear the music from every night) on Friday, we decided to spend the day in London. Basically we just did a lot of walking around and some shopping in the Covent Garden, Carnaby Street, and the Soho areas. Soho was definitely an interesting area. It reminded me a lot of Amsterdam as there were some ‘unique’ shops and shows. Megan went for a haircut and I spent the day wandering around and sitting in the park trying to read. I met a nice man from Chicago who was in town for the weekend and tried
Night outNight outNight out

We really went to the Chameleon?!!
to give him advice. Too bad he chose to ask me instead of a local!  Since it was such a nice day, there were people everywhere….most of them drinking. As they are allowed to drink anywhere (on the streets, parks, etc.) the British seem to take advantage of it and drink all day. It amazes me…but at the same time, explains why I see so many people fighting/passing out late nights around here! Anyway, since we were still tired from the night before, we steered clear of any alcohol. However, my co-worker Megan has an obsession with this shisha/hooka stuff, which we happened to find at a restaurant in Soho. In case you haven’t tried it, it is a traditional pipe smoked in many cultures. Don’t worry it is all legal. It is just flavored tobacco. Ours was apple flavored…kind of like a dessert! It was definitely an interesting experience. I am not sure I have gained the same obsession as her, but I am glad I tried it!

Ok, that’s it for now. I am headed back into London this weekend (we get Monday off for a ‘bank holiday’) so I am hoping to enjoy some relaxing alone time in the city before getting ready to leave the UK next week for good!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The London EyeThe London Eye
The London Eye

I guess this is the biggest ferris wheel in the world...
Team PictureTeam Picture
Team Picture

We decided to take an official picture of the team before Nicole headed back home to the states! (Megan, Agnes, me, Nicole)
Process flowsProcess flows
Process flows

See we DO work!


13th June 2006

Is that really where you work?

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb