A Week of the Arts


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
April 5th 2006
Published: April 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This week Kath and Graham have taken off to Paris and so Beata and I have had to entertain ourselves. London is famous for it’s dramatic arts and so I thought I would take this week to indulge as I didn’t know if I would be starting work any time soon.

The first play I saw this week was Resurrection Blues, the last play that Arthur Miller wrote before his death. It was playing at the Old Vic theatre in Southwark where Kevin Spacey is currently the artistic director. It was a star studded cast including Neve Campbell (of Party of Five fame) and Matthew Modine and was directed by Richard Altman. I’d not seen this play before, it was unusual (I never really thought that humour was Arthur Millers strength) but it was entertaining all the same. It’s received some really poor reviews, but I had a great time and can’t think of too many other better ways to spend a solitary Saturday arvo.

The other play I managed to get in and see was Smaller starring Alison Moyet and Dawn French. This play was written for Dawn French and was absolutely hilarious. I can’t remember laughing so
St Pauls CathedralSt Pauls CathedralSt Pauls Cathedral

Erin at St Pauls
much. The play focuses on a family where Dawn French’s character, Bernice, has been caring for her elderly and sick mother for 25 years while her sister (played by Alison Moyet) fled the coup and has been working overseas singing bad karaoke to rambunctious hen’s groups. Dawn French is incredibly funny - has the amazing ability to make a line like "shall I push your piles back in now?" sound as if it were unexceptional. I enjoyed it so much I might even try to make another performance before the season finishes in May.

To complete the week of the arts, Beata and I took another stroll through London. Starting at London Bridge we walked to St Paul’s Cathedral then along Fleet Street to the Royal Courts of Justice. Beata wanted to head inside and have a look but I started having work flashbacks so we decided to move on. From there we headed over to Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery. The works in the national gallery are incredible. I saw works by Monet, Van Gough and Picasso. But there were way to many things to absorb in the one visit and so I will definitely have to
Flowering Tree in Mayow ParkFlowering Tree in Mayow ParkFlowering Tree in Mayow Park

Mayow park is a beautiful park that I get to walk through on the way to the train station.It's great to see some of the trees starting to flower.
make a return trip!

So far there is no news on the work front. Apparently I have arrived in London just in time for the end of financial year which has meant that there aren’t as many positions around as I had expected. But to be honest I’m not to heart broken, I’m enjoying the time hanging about and being a tourist!

The weather has also been getting much better. When we first arrived all the trees were bare and everything looked so cold and uninviting. Spring has now definitely sprung. The trees are starting bud and the squirrels in the park are going nuts! I haven't needed to wear a scarf and gloves every day so that's been very exciting!

Advertisement



11th April 2006

Good to read of your adventures around London! Nice jacket too!

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb