Biggest Walking Tour of London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
March 23rd 2006
Published: March 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

London EyeLondon EyeLondon Eye

From Westminster Bridge after we were evacuated from the area
Kath, Graham, Beata and myself headed into London today for the biggest ever walking tour of London. After catching the train into town, we started at London Bridge and then walked along the Thames to the London Eye. We collected our tickets and then joined the queue to get on. We had only been waiting for a few minutes before we were suddenly all evacuated from the area, apparently there were some “technical issues” that meant we couldn’t get on! Anyways we decided to get out of the area pretty quickly and continued along the tour. We might try again tomorrow.

From the London Eye we took the Westminster bridge along past the houses of Parliament and Big Ben. We then did a walk past Westminster Abbey, heading through to St James Park and then a quick pop in to Buckingham Palace for morning tea with Liz.

From there we walked down constitution hill, for a quick stop in at the Wellington Monument and then decided to take a slight detour to Harrods for a little retail therapy (I know, I know! Not that unusual for me). A coupe of purchases later (I bought a very cute hat) we
Big BenBig BenBig Ben

Graham and the Houses of Parliament
headed into Hyde Park to enjoy some lunch by the Serpentine. We had a few things to feed to the birds, but they’re pretty scary! Graham’s hand was almost taken off by a swan when trying to feed them a bit of his cheese sandwich. Kath reckons they could break an arm! I don’t know about that, but it felt to me a bit like a scene from that Hitchcock movie! I’ve never felt the same way about birds after seeing “The Birds”.

After resting our heels in the park (which by the way was freezing) we walked along Oxford Street to engage in a little more retail therapy (is this becoming repetitive??). By this time I was getting really tired, so we caught the tube to Piccadilly circus and then walked down to Trafalgar Square - it was then getting really really cold (can you tell I’m not coping with the change in weather yet??) so we decided to call it an evening and headed back to home base.

Tomorrow Beata and I have a meeting with our recruitment consultant to talk about finding work - to be honest with you all I’m actually really enjoying
St James ParkSt James ParkSt James Park

Apparently all the bulbs are late this spring because it was such a cold winter
having a bit of time off from work. Talking to my consultant today, he thought that I could be working by the end of next week, but for me it’s been great to wake in the morning and have everyday feel like a Saturday!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Buckingham PalaceBuckingham Palace
Buckingham Palace

Just dropping into the palace!
Wellington MonumentWellington Monument
Wellington Monument

Kath, Beata and Random Man on top of the Wellington Monument
Hyde ParkHyde Park
Hyde Park

One of the very scary birds!


27th March 2006

It's cold in Hawaii too!
Hey Erin: Thanks for all the news. London sounds fun! We arrived home today and it's clod and rainy here too! We are looking forward to keeping up with all your adventures!
30th March 2006

hey Erin and Beata
Hi Sweeties! Hope you are having a great time and get used to the cold quickly. I wish I was on holidays.... Erin I am so sorry to ahve missed your farewell. A migraine just at the worst time. Bad luck really as they are not coming as often now and just when I have seen you the last times...I promise it is nothing to do with you. I love you sweetie and hope you have a great experience in London and enjoy a change in the work scene. Things are hectic here as always but we keep searching for a place to buy and trudging through work days. Will enjoy reading your writings! Love Ruthie

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0915s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb