Roller Disco


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
February 13th 2009
Published: March 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ready for '80's Night!Ready for '80's Night!Ready for '80's Night!

At Alex's house in Osterley, getting ready for our roller disco!
Alex is a flight attendant I met in Costa Rica back in October of 2007. We kept in touch via facebook, and now that I live here, it's time to hang out. On like Donkey Kong.

Today is her birthday, and her party is at a roller disco. They play music from the '70's and '80's while people fall all over themselves and each other trying to skate. Like everything else in England, the skating floor is about a third of the size of an American skating floor. Seriously, it's laughable how small this damn floor is. We go around and around, slooooooowly, because there are so many people, you can't pick up any speed.

This size of this floor is starting to piss me off, so I skate over to the bar and order a Jack and Coke. "JD and Coke?" the bartender asks.

I nod, cringing inside. I hate the way everyone here calls it "JD"! I'm from Tennessee, people, the Land of Jack Daniels, and we call it "Jack". Why can't they just recognize! 😊 I will never call it "JD" as long as I live. I turn to watch the skaters.

At home,
Group PhotoGroup PhotoGroup Photo

at Alex's house.
skating rinks are for preteens, but here, you have to be over 18, because they have a full bar in this place. Drunk people skating. What a brilliant idea.

Everyone is decked out in neon, with big hair and tons of make-up. It's fun people-watching.

Some young guy is checking me out. He's tall, loud, good-looking, and totally arrogant. Everything about him screams "frat boy".

But I flirt with him anyway. 😊 He skates over to me and says, "Hello," with a cocky little smirk on his face.

"Hey," I smile. "Nice get-up you got here." I'm referring to his neon yellow spandex shirt and hot pink pants.

"Thanks," he grins. "You look pretty good yourself." He pats my butt as he says this, then skates away with a smile before I can even react.

That English frat-boy just grabbed my ass.

(Actually, do they even have frat-boys in Europe?)

I go back to the skating floor and go around and around, dodging people left and right. Someone skates by and grabs my hand, pulling me forward with him. It's the frat-boy. Without looking at me, he lets go of my hand,
VogueVogueVogue

Strike a pose, there's nothing to it.
and skates on ahead.

Whatever.

This whole night is kind of surreal. It's like a flashback to my childhood (immature boys included), but tweeked a little bit.

I smile in the darkness as I fly 'round the floor, chasing an oval of light from the spinning disco ball. I mean, when was the last time you roller skated to Billy Jean while wearing a side ponytail?


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Mirror ShotMirror Shot
Mirror Shot

Before we got our skate on.
Our Whole CrewOur Whole Crew
Our Whole Crew

at the skating rink.
Witness the FitnessWitness the Fitness
Witness the Fitness

Some random guy with a cool t-shirt.


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb