I'll Never Get Bored of London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
October 16th 2008
Published: October 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's a Thursday, and I know that if I go into London after work today, I'll get home late and be tired at school tomorrow, but I don't care. I need a get-away.

By 6:00, I'm sitting on a ledge by the Thames, right across from St. Paul's Cathedral. The sun sets slowly, coloring the clouds with fuzzy smudges of purple and pink while the sky contrasts by looking like it's on fire. Pidgeons fly around looking for food, landing occasionally to peck at something, then fly off over the river. Joggers weave in and out of people. The train at Charing Cross rolls loudly across the river in the distance behind me. Girl friends walk by arm-in-arm, laughing, talking, high-heels clicking. I like how people actually wear barrets in this country. Those would be so far-fetched in Nashville, just like cowboy hats are here, I suppose.

It's windy here.

I walk along Clink Street, relishing the cobblestone roads and cathedrals from the Middle Ages mixed with modern art museums and upscale restaurants.

I love the blue and white lights in the trees along the Queen's Walk near the Oxo Tower. I feel romantic and lovely. I listen appreciatively to the musicians who place themselves along the South Bank, Bankside, and the Queen's Walk. It's SOOO Nashville! And so romantic! My heart sings.

I had planned on going to the Tate Museum of Modern Art, but I've decided to have a relaxed evening outdoors. The river calls to me, especially at sunset. Now that I've responded to that call and my eyes have fallen upon the glittering water, I'm stuck. I cannot leave. I have to keep looking at it. I have to walk along it. I have to stand on the Waterloo Bridge as the sun sets. I have to drink this city in slow, deep breaths, with eyes wide and heart open. My body hums with gratitude.

A world so beautiful. I'll never get over this place.




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Oxo Tower at NightOxo Tower at Night
Oxo Tower at Night

See the blue and white lights in the trees to the right.
London Eye and Big BenLondon Eye and Big Ben
London Eye and Big Ben

You can see people along the walkway passing by the London Eye.
GirlGirl
Girl

A girl wearing a barret sits on a bench to the right under a tree, facing the river with her knees drawn up to her chest. She thought I was taking a picture of the full moon, but I wanted her on the bench with the lamp, tree branch, and river.
Street Lamp and Full MoonStreet Lamp and Full Moon
Street Lamp and Full Moon

I set the camera on the railing for this picture. Didn't come out too well.


Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0737s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb