Salaam Namaste


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 1st 2007
Published: July 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Taj HotelTaj HotelTaj Hotel

The Taj Hotel in Mumbai
Things I did in India that I've never done before and may never do again...

Wear a saree
wear a saree all night long
Dance in the monsoon rains in a wedding procession in a saree
Go to a squat toilet in a saree (do you see a trend developing?)
Have a driver for myself for the day
Go for a midnight motorbike ride with no helmet in heavy monsoon rains, side saddle (yeah, I know, stupid, but I will most likely NEVER do that one again and it was SOOOOO much fun)
Dance bollywood style in a club with new found friends
Get drenched in a rickshaw ride to the airport with extremely heavy rains (do you see another trend?)
Get stuck at the airport for 5 hours because of flooding on the runway


For any lone traveler, couch surfing is the best thing EVER! The last 24 hours in India felt like I was living in a Bollywood film. First of all, the couch surfer who I stayed with on my final day was a woman from England who's been in Mumbai for 4 years. She sent her driver to pick me up from the airport and drive me around the entire day doing some sight seeing. Yeah - luxury! Unfortunately he was a bit late picking me up from the airport and looking like a lost Westerner at any Indian airport is NOT a good thing 😊 "Hotel Madam?"

I then met up with Heather later that night, a few of her friends and a few random people from Couch surfing. I ended up going out and dancing with Heather and her friends and had a great time.

I think part of me loves India because of the chaos, but along with that comes many confronting things. I really enjoyed Mumbai - it's India's most cosmopolitan city and was a lot more relaxed than the north. It's also got Asia's largest slums, so along with the glitz of Bollywood comes ALOT of poverty. I still find the beggars at the car windows really hard to handle.

I'm now in London after a long delay at Mumbai airport. The airport was completely closed for 4 hours while waiting for the rains to subside. I'll be meeting up with friends for lunch this afternoon and hoping that I don't have a flaming hole
Rickshaw RideRickshaw RideRickshaw Ride

Getting absolutely drenched in the rickshaw ride to the airport
in my pocket after how cheap India was.

I've also added photo's to the last entry, so make sure you have a look there.







Advertisement



1st July 2007

Yay you
YOu go Girlfriend with your BAD self!!! How exciting! The only thing better than being there for me is the ability to live vicariously through the fabulous friends I have that are constantly jetsetting! Thanx Babe, keep it coming. PS I LOVE the whole 'sari' thing and am totally jelous-I hope you got to keep it, maybe it can borrow it to wear out sometime?!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb