London day 1


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This morning we took an early flight to London.

We dropped off our stuff at Anna's cousin's house, Anna and Bob went about their business looking for apartments, and I went and toured the city.

I started at St. Paul's Cathedral, crossed the Millenium Bridge over the Thames by Shakespeare's Globe, and went to the Tate Modern Art Museum for a while. There is currently a really neat free display on urbanism and urban expansion, and it highlights the expansion of some of the world's 10 largest urban areas (Cairo, Mumbai, Mexico D.F., Sao Paulo, Tokyo, Istanbul, Los Angeles, Shanghai, Cape Town, and New York... I think). There are some really neat photographs and scale models that show the different way that each city is expanding with respect to immigration, geography, topography, demographics, etc.

I then walked along the Thames and found a Dalí exhibit and decided to check it out. Once again I am amazed at how his mind works...

I continued past the London Eye, across the river again past the parliament, through St. James' park to Buckingham palace, then to Picadilly Circus, and finally to Trafalgar Square.

Then I met Bob and Anna and Anna's cousin for dinner and we went for sushi. I am not going to say how much dinner cost, but it was nearly as much as my entire trip in France.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb