Hello London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 22nd 2007
Published: June 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Home to London


Rear WindowRear WindowRear Window

This is the lovely view I get from my dorm room window.

Home to London
Nicole H
Things I have learned about London so far...

1. It is probably the most complicated place I have been in my WHOLE life
2. Just because the people here speak English doesnt mean you can understand them
3. The pidgeons here tend to waddle and run they dont fly, which is really strange because you just walk along with them trotting along beside you
4. People at information booths have no information however, they will call you love and darling
5. I will never ever ever travel alone again ever!
6. London is very expensive, you think things are cheap but then you think about how much it is in dollars and it is very expensive
7. Luggage is very heavy when you have to tote it around the streets of London for 3.5 hours trying to find where you are going
8. I watch too much CSI ( I thought the girl on the airplane was dead when I couldnt wake her up)
9. London is very crowded and people seem to have no sense of personal space
10. Its very wet here...

Okay so I arrived in London at 11:00am (6am US time), and it takes
Detroit AirportDetroit AirportDetroit Airport

At the airport before I boarded the plane, hanging out with my parents and brother for a little bit.
forever and ever to get through the passport thing and the old guy behind me is standing really close to me. I mean we are talking touching me. So I finally get through everything and buy my underground ticket for Kings Cross Station, which you think would be exciting because of Harry Potter however it wasnt because by the time I had gotten to the station I was so confused and exhausted from lugging a 45 pound wheely bag up 10 flights of stairs that I didnt even have the energy to look for Platform 9 3/4. I went to the info booth and asked them where I could find the university of London and they tell me they dont know darling. I wanted to be like then why the hell are you an infomation booth, I mean there was 4 of them and none of them knew! So trekking off I went. Walking and walking and walking for about 2.5 miles I praise God after I find an STA travel. However, the people there treated me like Im invisible and wouldnt help me, angry and more lost than ever I left. Continuing on down the road because I have a tiny map and some idea of where I am going but, they dont have street signs on all streets in London so... I finally get to Commonwealth Hall (or so I think) and come to find out that no no this is the worng place I have to go back about 1 mile and hang right and then left. By this point I was ready to cry. I had been walking around the city for 3 hours, sweaty and wet from rain (which it does alot here) and this woman was telling me that I had to go back down the street I had just come from and turn the other way. So off I was again. Trugging through the rain to find the correct dorm. I FINALLY found it, its tucked away of some side street, and checked in. I was so happy to have my own room. I changed clothes and went downstairs and ended up finding my professor. Talked to him for a bit and he gave me some suggestions on where I can go to get something to eat. And thats that. Today has really sucked; but atleast I know that I can survive by myself in London for a day if necessary (I never ever want to do it again). I will forever travel with someone because of this experience, those people who backpack across Europe by themselves are very brave. Well Peace out for now, Ill update soon hopefully with some more interesting news. We are suppose to have our walkabout group tour tomorrow however I could probably be the tour guide with as much of the city as Ive seen today.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb