Bying time....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 19th 2007
Published: June 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, this is my first entry- you getting aqainted with me. Me telling you all where exactly i'm at and have been.
Most of you that are going to read my blogs will be aware that i haven't yet started backpacking around good old Europe just yet. That journey begins on the 29th June and cannot come quick enough. Although, at present i am trying to work out the best mode of transport for me and my pal Rach, and actually whether we should even worry about organising transport before we go or not. I am thinking yes because although i believe i am independant, or rather like to think, a little bit of security is always going to be welcome on my journey.

My adventure/journey/working holiday, call it what you will, started in January 2006.
As everyone else does, i came to London to work and earn some pounds to travel the big wide world. Accompanying me was my older brother, and awaiting were two very very close friends who had arrived in the fast paced capital several weeks before.
Having been in London before, 3 years prior, to be precise, i knew what to expect. Or i had a reasonable idea.
In my mind i had it all mapped out. I was here simply to work for the pound. I wasn't in search of the perfect career or the start to a new life. I just wanted to use London as a base and a bank and be on my merry way around the world.

As plans never go to plan- well, never in my life anyways, i did begin earning the pound and infact i did manage to get a bank account too. So you could say i satisfied both of the criteria mentioned above. In am manner of speaking yes. But the latter, on my merry way- no.

I fell into a job for a large company that accomodated me well at the time. Great people. Great social life. Good career progression if you wanted. I also fell into routine. London routine.
Be it no-ones fault but my own, i began living life or wanting and trying to live life as a Londoner.
I wanted the latest fashions. I wanted to be able to go out and eat and drink at my leisure with all my friends and not miss out on anything. I was loving living in London. I had a nice little houseshare, and great friends that were like a second family.

My first trip with my brother and two friends, was to Turkey in April 06 for ANZAC DAY. A gorgeous country and friendly people.
Being at Anzac Cove for ANZAC Day was an experience that i will never forget. As cliche or corney as it may sound, we don't know how good we have it and how lucky we have been. What those soldiers had to endure, from all nations, was horrific. As i am not a wealth of information, and none of you logged on to read the history of Turkey or the ANZACS, i won't harp on about this but will recommend that should the privilidge arise then definately take it and learn a little about this amazing country and the history of your own also.

Hmmm, i'm not too sure that what's written above is the exact idea of a travel blog or really what i had in mind when i began to type. The idea in my head of this first entry was just to get you up to speed on the last year and half which is really when i first left to travel.

I'll fast track and do perhaps a few bullet points.

So, the above was the first trip and then before i knew it and very thankfully my parents were over for a visit and their 'BIG EUROPE TRIP'! It was July/August??when they arrived. Was so nice to see them. I can' t describe it really, and i won't because everyone knows what it's like to finaly see you parents when you haven't seen them in forever.

They stayed with me for a bit in London. Travelled on a Trafalgar Tour around Europe and my brother and i went and met them for a short time in a little country town in France. Oh sorry, amidst all of this, my sister and her now husband also paid a surprise visit and went travelling too!

Then it was back to London and back to work. This is back to where i had become complacent with life in London and realised that i was perhaps trying to live two lives or rather, wanting the best of both worlds.
Trying or thinking or actually living like a Londonder and trying to save to travel are not compatible. Well, they are i guess if you're earning a very, very, very good wage! I wasn't!

Quite simple really. You can't save an adequate amount of money to travel for a couple of months and also have lifes little luxuries too! Especially in London. Just doesn't happen that way.

A short trip to Portugal with a friend. Gorgeous- although it rained and was freezing!

Christmas came, and Christmas went.

Before i knew it i was a booking a flight home for my sisters wedding and trying to work out if there was ever going to be an easy way to resign from my job. There wasn't. There never really is. So that's why,like me, you procrastinate. Time passed, and passed and passed.
Before i knew it i was on the plane home and very very excited.

The thought of staying longer had never entered my mind- well perhaps that's a lie but seriously entered my mind- no.
Not until i caught up with an old friend. A friend that possibly i wanted to see the most but due to the craziness of weddings, got pushed to the back of the que.

Finally a rendez-vous and all of a sudden i REALLY wanted to stay. Don't get me wrong, this friend wasn't the sole reason for my wanting to extend my stay. I hadn't prepared myself to leave. I didn't feel like i had seen my friends enough and i sure hadn't said proper goodbyes to everyone.
It was just two days before i was supposed to leave and- well, do you ever really know if the decision you make is going to be the right one?? Cos i never do. I am always regretting something.

Not only was it a good idea to stay, but it mean't really having to resign from my job. Something that yes i had intended anyway when i got back but still something quite scary for me.

Yes, no maybe. Am i making a mistake. Am i being an idiot. Everything negative and bad about the situation taking the spotlight. Calm down Abbie. You have to take risks. And quite bruntly as my sister did put it- "sometimes you have to wear your heart on your sleeve".

So i did.

And that brings it back to the start of the page where i have now been back in London for nearly a week after 5 great weeks at home. And in just over a weeks time my European Adventure will begin.



Advertisement



19th June 2007

i am the first one - drink is mine !
Great blog! I love it - your coming to berlin!!!!! And, good decision to do travelling now - last week i read a book and the lyrics shocked me.. was like: also un-lived life goes to an end:( how scary - so live your life and travel hugs for the way!! keep me in your minde if its really bad and realy good:)
20th June 2007

Wow!!!!
Well i think you write very well, and good luck with your travelling, but from a selfish point of view HURRY HOME!!!!! Luv u Aunty Sharon xx
9th July 2007

Pamplona ?
Hi darling, Running of the Bulls, how was it ? Waiting to hear where you are now.xxx

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb