The bright lights of London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 17th 2007
Published: June 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Noise, pints, pollution, mushy peas, people, lights . . . . . . . yes I'm in LONDON!!!!

Day 1
Thought Bangkok was a busy place, naive am i, london is as busy if not more- but in a whole differnt way. . . it could be overwhelming, but feels quite comfy . . like slipping on an old pair of slippers, trampled and worn. first time here, but feels right.
arriving at Heathrow airport, tired and ( probably a tad smelly) having not showered for 3 days. Dorkus( rachel G) and Matti J ( a surprise) were there to greet me, so nice to see some familar faces from the past. . . so first stop home to Rach's brother Steve ( Ealing Broadway) for a quick Shower . . then straight out As I hadn't seen Rach in 2 years . . . we had to head to a cafe and talk non stop for the next few hours. She taught me the basics of the tube . and a good teacher she must be cos I have mastered the tube and buses . . go the 'oyster' card ( used for paying). Rach headed back to Stratford upon Avon and I staued on at Steve & lous( thanks guys)- and they had sky( ya) so saw the AB's against Canada.

Day 2.
spent day with Rach- checking out Convent Garden- i can't believe the beautifual architecture here, the cobbled paths( how do the english girls ever wear high heels and not break there ankles!!), i have tripped over numerous times already myself and I am wearing flat shoes( mind you am a clutz). had my first english home cooked meal- . . NZ lamb chops( yummy) kindly cokked by Steve followed closely with a few beers. JUst like home.

Day 3.
today moved to Matti J and Nicki place in Manor House ( other side of town) so looked like a cross between a turtle and a hobbit luggin my pack onto my back and hopping on and off buses and tubes to negotiate my way across town( a 1.5 hour journey)- diddn't get a photo Im afraid as I couldn't move my arms... ha ha.
today visited BUCKINGHAM PALACE ( must do my royalty stop) today was special- actual date of queens birthday the 'TROOPING OF THE COLOUR' . Amazing the thousands of people who showed up, i was pushed and shoved along. I managed to get a few samps ( from a distance) of th queen( she is in the green) standing on balcony. . . the the highlight for me was catching a sneaky shot of Prince charles as he left the palace- see photo. . .

Day 4.
matt & nicki & Dan took me to Camden Town( funky place- reminds me of Cuba street in Welli) anything and everfing goes . . punks, goths the lot . . piercing and tattoo city . . as you can see I made a lovely friend !!!
great markets, full of souviners, food, and local art ( and international) matt bought himself a greenstone necklace from NZ. . . . crazy .

anyhow, I am moulding to the london way . . . slowly- I still continue to smile and say cheers to every bus driver( not that I have ever had a response) a baby on the bus enjoyed my smile at least( so i will continue to do it)

well i had better get my beauty sleep, got to tackle the NI ( national insurance - UK
charlie boycharlie boycharlie boy

he is in the back if you look closely
tax) and job agent peope tomorrow- so I can sort some work. . . . need to pay for a pint somehow.

love to you all, keep smiling
xxxxxxxx megan



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



18th June 2007

Hey ya
Hey Meegz looks like you are having a ball. I really miss you but its nice to see you enjoying yourself and living it up. Thinking of you love Tan
20th June 2007

hows divine?
Hi tans , so nice to hear from you, I have a bebo site too, i will email a link. how is Divine pizza going? have you started back at Ceroc, I am going to check out the locations in london next week, so i can burn off the beers. miss you loads .take care megs x

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb