An exciting day...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 28th 2007
Published: May 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I am exhausted!!! Arrived at the airport early yesterday morning, and haven't slept more than three hours since. So I guess you could say I am running on reserve power right now! The flights were uneventful... On the flight from LA to Minneapolis I sat next to an incredibly annoying woman who didn't seem to understand the concept of personal space. Normally I would not have been so irritated, except it was 10 AM and she was giving ME dirty looks for invading MY personal space. My layover in Minneapolis was also very boring- I ate some McDonalds, which made my stomach hurt, and then spent an hour or so touring the concourse. I sat next to a quiet man who was nice, and spent the flight watching movies and watching the woman across from me get wasted. It was pretty entertaining. By the tail end of the flight, she was lying on her tray table, half flopped into the aisle. I thoroughly enjoyed watching the flight attendants rouse her from her drunken stouper and try to get her back into her seat.
Customs was easy in London, and after getting my bags I immediately went to the smoking area where I met an older Irish gentleman named John. I asked him about the rail and tube system, and he teased me from the bad directions I had been given. We had a nice chat, but by the end of the conversation I was more confused about the tube and rail system than I had been to begin with. On the Gatwick express, I met an interesting mother/daughter duo from Texas and we chatted and then parted ways at Victoria Station. I then managed to figure out how to add pounds to my Oyster card and get on the tube. A handsome young guy approached me, and asked if I needed help with my bags. He had very pretty blue eyes, but unfortunately I could not understand half of what he was saying to me. Luckily, our time on the tube lasted only three mintues so I did not have to continue asking him to repeat himself. I got off the tube and got lost trying to find the hostel... It took about an hour of walking and three friendly English people to point me in the right direction 😊 I dropped my bag, changed into something a bit warmer, and headed out to explore. Unfortunately, it started to rain a bit hard so I sought shelter in an Irish pub where I shared a few pints of Grolsh with a nice man named John. He was missing half his teeth, and was old enough to be my grandfather, but he was very kind and shared a lot about the city of London with me.
So far the trip has been exciting, and full of interesting people. I am exhasuted though (which can probably be noted by my bad spelling and grammer). I am safe, happy, and excited for the next thirty odd days. Watch out Europe... Here I come!

Advertisement



28th May 2007

The first thing I did when I graduated from college was take a four-month trip around the world, waaaaaay back in the 70's. I look forward to reliving the feelings of euphoria everytime you visit a new country, through you! Have fun - be safe!!! Pam

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 18; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb