Egypt to England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
December 31st 2006
Published: January 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

An early wakeup of 4am followed by another crazed cab ride through Cairo. Then I had to check for my lost sleeping bag. I spent a while speaking with a French girl who’s English was not crash hot only to find that the bag was not in Cairo and in fact in Paris. I then boarded the plane and flew to Paris where I went and spoke to the British air staff. After about an hour of walking around from department to department I finally spoke to another air France staff member this time a guy who then managed to get some headway, he organized for someone to deliver the sleeping bag to us. When the guy arrived he was holding a green sleeping bag of some other brand name. What a dumb ass. The air France guy apologized and asked me if I would like to keep the sleeping bag of which I said no. I still had plenty of time left to check in so I sat around and waited for my plane. The flight to England was very bumpy and the landing was pretty much sideways but it was nice to be back in London. I now sit on the tube riding back to Simon’s place where I will decide what to do for New Years Eve.

New Years

New years was pretty full on, though I didn’t drink or anything I still went out on the town for the count down. London was crazy with so many people walking the streets; by the time I left it was still early but starting to get ugly (by the alcoholics) Getting to bed was the best remedy I could think of for my jetlag and after a good sleep the 1st of the year was spent doing washing and drying it as best I could in time for tomorrow. I reorganized everything, checked in my flight online and made all my plans for the following day. As I had not received my Japan Rail pass vouchers I had revolved all my organizing around getting those tickets as early as possible. Wake up at 7:30 get ready then walk to the post office before 8am, hopefully pick up my tickets without much drama and then head back to get my bags and go to the airport by 11:30am that means catching the train by 10:30am.

The quest continues but this time I fly back over to my side of the planet just remaining in the upper hemisphere. Destination; Japan, The flight in was relatively nice, I had a row to myself once again and watched a movie then slept most of the way in my makeshift bed. Post arriving at Narita airport I was glad to find that both of my bags had arrived safely and then proceeded to make my way to the JR office to collect my pass I then posted one of my bags up to Niseko (supprising enough it only cost 1300yen approx $13au) and then purchasing a mobile phone. After doing this I caught the first train into Tokyo. A quick phone call to my brother to let him know I had bought a mobile phone and giving him the number allowed him to inform me of a good pack packer’s hostel to stay at. I then headed over to Asakusa and checked into the hostel named … by this time I was pretty tired and hungry so I headed out in search of some cheap food. I came across one of the many noodle bars where you purchase a ticket of the meal you want, hand this ticket to the staff and then await for your meal to be created. The meal was very filling and pretty cheap for Tokyo. After taking a short walk around the temple in Asakusa I then felt I had no energy left in me to keep going to headed back to my room and went to bed.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 23; qc: 100; dbt: 0.0835s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb