Drowsy Times in the UK and other Miscelaneum


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
September 30th 2006
Published: December 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A statue at Buckingham PalaceA statue at Buckingham PalaceA statue at Buckingham Palace

Its cool and arty beacuse its in B&W
Being a good Aussie guy I decided to take advantage of being in Istanbul and headed off to see some good friends in London.

Needless to say this involved being exposed to Londons underground, Londons rain, Londons booze and an excess of Londons Aussie invaders. I took to all these things with a gutso, and only got lost in the city 16 or 17 times; honestly.

I spent about two great weeks hanging out with Jimmi and Natasa, catching up and reminiscing, getting drunk and trying to reminise about the night before.

Of course I did all the things a good tourist should do. Visited Buckingham Palace, was suitably hushed in Westminster Abbey, dropped into a stack of way cool art galleries, admired the grand sweeping lines and architecture of South Clapham underground station, coughed up AU$4.50 for a crap espresso, and paid my respects to the other grand London institution- Walkabout pubs.

A side trip to bath revealed a quiter and more sedadte side to England. I was heartened to see that there was still a pub on every corner and met a great buch of Bath locals who were only to willing to let me
My homiesMy homiesMy homies

Tash on the left and Jimmy on the right. And Alby Mangles getting in the shot.
drink and eat with them for the night.

Although I was dissapointed that I couldnt bathe in the fabled roman baths. Despite a red sign blaring at me to "keep away from the slipery edge of the baths", I being such an adreline junky stole a minute and washed my hands in the volcanically warm springs- the exhileration from that act of rebellion will be with me forever.

I also took a quick trip up to Edinbugh to visit a meat patty. We saw a grand castle, some rolling meadows, a 45 foot pregnant woman' and I discovered the joys of trying to understand a thick Scottish accent. A bakers dozen of beers was also consumed.

So I did have lots of fun in the UK. Catching up with old friends, making new ones, and flying the boozy flag of Australia was quite a little adventure.








Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Edinbugh CastleEdinbugh Castle
Edinbugh Castle

Edinburgh Castle at 150 km/ph


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb