Guy Fawkes!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
November 5th 2006
Published: December 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fun With RocketsFun With RocketsFun With Rockets

Hannah, Helen, Josh, Grant
I had a bit of a sleep in on Sunday and then headed down to the Leicester Square WalkAbout to watch the All Blacks vs England game with Beth, Helen, Grant, Josh, Leigh and Glenn etc.
Ben, the ‘token’ English supporter, met us there to watch a convincing NZ win (20-41)

After the game Beth, Helen, Grant, Josh and I went back to Shepherd’s Bush and bought a big box of fireworks on the way 😊

We had dinner, Josh made us a tasty chicken stir-fry, and then dug in to Grant’s Belgium chocolates for dessert. We headed down to the local park, jumped the fence (well in my case, climbed under it) and let off our big box of fireworks.

Unfortunately, the box didn’t have any sparklers in them, so Helen and I headed back to the Offy (local diary) on a sparkler mission while the boys went back to the flat.

While we were at the shop, we found a big packet of giant sky rockets, and couldn’t help ourselves! We got our sparklers and headed back to the flat to show the boys our great find!

We went back to the park and
Our Rockets!Our Rockets!Our Rockets!

Hannah & Helen
over the fence, along with Beth this time. We individually sent off our fire rockets and celebrated in between with sparkler dances 😊


I got up early for work again on Monday. I sat backwards in the train to High Wycombe which was a bit annoying and slightly nauseating.

I got to work and went straight into a ‘health and safety road show’ meeting for the ‘4D’ work with Southern Water.

Tony invited me up to Terriers House for lunch at the canteen. I was lucky I took up the offer and not tried to walk up myself as it is a bit of a drive and not the short walk that I had thought!

I got introduced to a few people at lunch and then Tony showed me around the grounds, including the tennis court, the orangey, formal garden, and into some of the offices.

While we were upstairs, Nathan Fletcher walked passed, twin brother of Jonno (a friend from Beca in NZ), who I immediately recognised and stopped him mid-stride to say ‘Hello’ (not that he knew who I was!). Thankfully Jonno and already talked to him and said that I was working there, and might bump into him.

We had a look through Terriers House (a listed heritage building) and wandered through an array of corridors, halls, rooms and staircases before somehow returning to our entry point.
We headed back down to City House via a small tour of High Wycombe, including a Police temporary operations hub, which apparently sprung up during some anti-terrorism raids in High Wycombe (sounds…. Safe?).

By the time we got back to the office it was 2.30pm, and I finally got around to doing some work.

I caught the train back to Marylebone and picked up some essential groceries on the way. I had limited myself to this, as I checked my bank balance at work today, I’m .err...considerably in debit. Awesome.

I had dinner with what ever food I could find in the house and chatted with Irene over some Toblerone before retiring to bed.


I ran down to Marylebone station on Tuesday morning and managed to just catch my 8.20am train despite another mishap with the ticketing machine.

I got to MWH on time, and managed to actually do some work today. We scored some free biscuits in the lunch room, as some girl that I have never met got engaged on the weekend. Bonus!

I caught the train back to Marylebone and applied for my youth rail card, and bought a railticket in advance for tomorrow, which now only costs me ₤8.25 instead of ₤12.50 for a return ticket! I should make up the cost of card (₤20) each week I work.

I went home and started to wade through the piles of forms that I had been sent from Orchard Finance to set up my Limited Liability Company, so I can (finally) get paid.


On Wednesday, I left home at 8am, and managed to catch my train at 8.20 thanks to buying my ticket the night before.

We were treated at afternoon tea time by cake and chocolates from Darren who was celebrating his birthday (today) and recent engagement. Awesome, more free food 😊

I caught the train back to Marylebone with a guy who had come to lunch the other day at The Bell - who’s name I didn’t know then, and still don’t know. I’ll have to make a point of searching the database tomorrow…

Following this morning’s success, I wisely bought my train ticket for tomorrow and also got a ticket for the Stansted Express for Sunday’s return trip to London, post Berlin.

I had leftovers for dinner and a big chat (well relatively speaking) with my flatmate, Scott. I got a call from James, it’s his last day at work tomorrow and thought I’d he’d take the last opportunity to use the company’s money to call us in the UK.

On Thursday, for the first time I managed to get down to Marylebone Train Station with a small amount of spare time.

I had a reasonably productive day at work and left early at 4.30pm, to be sure I was packed and ready to go for tonight.

Beth and Helen came over to my place at 9.30pm following moving out of their flat. They dropped some stuff off here and then we headed over to Nick’s in Tooting to stay for the night.

We didn’t get to Nick’s place until after 11pm. They had arranged a series of pillows and cushions on the floor of the lounge to turn the room into one large bed for us to crash on. I managed to score the couch, a think being the shortest was the main contributing factor.

We finally got to sleep around 12am after Nick decided it was good time for a quick catch up with everyone…We had only a few hours of sleep to look forward to before setting off to the airport at 3am for our Berlin trip tomorrow!!


Advertisement



29th November 2011
Fire-Art

Cool picture.

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 71; dbt: 0.1149s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb