Such Sweet Sorrow!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
November 18th 2018
Published: November 18th 2018
Edit Blog Post

“The time has come,” the Walrus said... to speak of my endless gratitude for the privilege of having this autumnal adventure! It’s truly been phenomenal, far exceeding any expectations! So happy to have shared it with you, and hope that you enjoyed my pix and posts.

In my last few days here, I managed to eak out another discovery or two, first with a (very drizzly) visit to nearby Reigate, then with a final fling in London, where I was given a tour of Greenwich by Susan, a volunteer for LondonGreeters.com.

We visited the Cutty Sark, the Royal Naval College, the Queen's House, the Meridian Line (ground zero for Greenwich Mean Time), and the Saturday Market. It was a brilliant day, full of sun (still at an inconvenient angle), bustling crowds and glistening waves on the Thames. We lunched at The Plume, a close-to-perfect English pub (cozy but bright, with friendly staff and excellent food.)

Today I’m packing up for my evening flight back to the other Greenwich (Connecticut), where I will join Larkin and family in celebrating Thanksgiving. I’ll be back in Portland on Nov. 25, and will be doing laundry and sleeping until the 28th....?


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

At the Traflagar Pub with guide SusanAt the Traflagar Pub with guide Susan
At the Traflagar Pub with guide Susan

Charles Dickens frequented this pub, but the real story is the bronze statue of Lord Nelson (in right background) - apparently he disappears from time to time, then reappears without explanation... ?
Astride the Meridian LineAstride the Meridian Line
Astride the Meridian Line

A foot in the past and in the present.
I DID IT!I DID IT!
I DID IT!

The orange lines highlight my travels this year (not shown: Paris side trip). The yellow lines are the places I went last year. WHEW!


Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb